the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Am I Today? 933

11.13.2005

5:28 pm

Feeling much more normal, thank you. I just talked to K a little while ago, and she sounds normal; I had a nice long talk with the Sibs this morning, so that's good; and R just got home from work. Later than I expected, but really, I've got to give up that crazy why aren't they home yet? thing. It's not their problem, it's mine. And the Hubs spent the morning raking up leaves, so now he looks like he's going to die any minute, but probably not.

I got some more stuff moved out of the basement to go in the trash tomorrow, and the floor seems to be finally completely dry. Also, with the Sibs' help, I realized that I don't have to call endless furnace repair people tomorrow who will never call me back, just the plumber, who will come within a reasonable time and take care of the whole thing. (Fingers slightly crossed here.) So I'll call from school in the morning and then take a personal day one day this week to stay home for them. Really, water gushing onto your basement floor is just never a good thing.

There's a lot to be said for normal. I felt totally not-normal yesterday. All I can say is this damn well better not be some sort of hormonal surge, because I know what that means and I am simply too old for that kind of shit. I have a friend who's 57 -- in fact, she was 57 yesterday -- who says with great pride that she hasn't started menopause yet. Oh, please. As far as I was concerned, they could have yanked out all those parts five minutes after my last child was born. Oh, crap, I'm just remembering that I had me some nasty hot and cold flashes the other night. Doesn't look like a good week coming up for me.

TMI. So sorry.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls Marathon
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here