the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's a Lovely Day Today 934

11.14.2005

6:55 pm

Weather-wise, anyway. I didn't even wear a jacket to work. And I got my own dear car back after school, which can only improve my mood. I still had to go to work though, of course, but the Colleague and I, independently of each other, pretty much gave the SCM the cold shoulder, which is what he deserves because he's a crybaby snot. So there, I said it.

I did spent a great deal of time today with my fiction collection, and that makes me happy. I finally shelved the Great Big Shipment of Books that came in last week, most of which were replacements, so I was also pulling beat-up and yellowed old copies of wonderful things off. Wonderful things, since I was mostly replacing classics and much-loved books. I can't even list all the excellent books I held in my hands today, but this is strange:

It seems that within the last week, I have encountered three or four references to The Princess Bride, and in each case, not the movie but the book. I think I read something on line somewhere, and then someone saw the new hardcover copy on the book cart and said something, and R had a friend in the house on Saturday who was here for maybe twenty minutes between busses, and it came up. Like someone was trying to send me a message. So when I put the nice new one on the shelf today, I brought the old nasty one home. We'll see how far I get with it.

It's Monday night tonight, but no Arrested Development, people. You just wouldn't watch, would you. *sigh*

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here