the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Before I Get Sucked In 946

11.28.2005

6:23 pm

I just checked my buddy list and it's all red, so I've got reading to do. But my new toy -- a very basic Palm -- came about two hours ago, so I've got an hour to go before it's all charged and then takes over my life, what with the setting up and entering and syncing stuff. So here I am.

I was reading l-empress's entry before, about the new medicare prescription plans. I had gathered from all the commercials that this was a confusing mess. My only frame of reference is my parents, who are gone three-plus years now; their prescriptions came to about $40,000 a year for the two of them. They worked hard all their lives, for most of them, getting by just fine, but that was about it. Their retirement was unexpectedly comfortable, due to a change in the financial climate and other factors. So they would not have qualified for any of these prescription plans, either. Imagine, $40,000 a year, just to keep yourself alive. Even so, no dice.

R's old car just got picked up by the people we donated it to, the Heritage for the Blind -- don't ask; I don't know what they're going to do with it -- about a half hour before the Hubs came home, having spent the day thinking maybe we should keep it. Oh well.

I have been on the phone with New Delhi entirely too much lately. When one of them answers the phone and says "Hello, this is Andy," I want to scream "Bullshit! Your name is so not Andy!" but I restrain myself. What really drives me crazy is that they cannot pronounce my name, even after I say it for them. My name ends in an "e", which they insist on including. As if my name were Jane, and they call me Janie. (Which is not my name, but you knew that.) What comes out is a bizarre diminutive that I never even allowed my parents to call me. So I'm not in a good mood to begin with. But I'm also not pleased with the way everyone I call, it seems, answers from another country. Just doesn't seem like a good thing all around, does it? How many people can't find jobs here anymore? How many people are happy with customer or technical service that they can't understand over the phone?

At the bell -- dinner's ready.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here