the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

My Hero 948

11.30.2005

8:09 pm

I was on the phone with K before, about six, our usual Wednesday phone call. She likes to have a smoke while she's on the phone, so she was outside in front of her apartment building. Then she said there was a cat sitting on her front steps. She creeped closer; even I could hear it crying. She said it had a collar on and looked scared, and she would call me back.

She called back five minutes later. She has picked up the cat and read the name on the collar -- Harriet -- and called the phone number on the tag. Turns out it was a house right across the street, and the woman there was freaked to find out that her cat had gotten out. She came right out and picked her up, and was very grateful.

Good karma's coming K's way today, I'm thinking.

Never let it be said that I am not the repository of bizarre physical sensations. Here's my new one: my knees are cold. Specifically my left knee, although the right one is too, from time to time. And I mean cold; my knee will suddenly feel like it's wet with icy water. Then it eases up for awhile, and then comes back. Man, am I weird. I wouldn't even mention this to a doctor; what would I say? Although I know if I were a patient on House and I had this symptom and didn't tell anyone, it would mean certain death.

It was 62 degrees here today. All I know is, something is seriously f--d up on this planet.

I'm the master of the short entry lately. No clue, unless it's that my new toy is sucking out all my brain cells. Could be.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here