the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm a Little Miffed 955

12.06.2005

6:24 pm

You know, I love computers. I do. But I'm pretty pissed off at the moment. The Geek came and installed the router, and the new wireless cards in two computers, R's and the Hubs'. Now if only it would all work.

I mean, is this not what I paid them for? That a kid in a white shirt and a skinny black tie with no personality or sense of humor should come to my house and make this work? It worked, or appeared to, when he left. Then I rebooted the Hubs' computer. There are error messages, there are new icons, but the Internet, not so much. Actually, it comes and it goes. The Geek is supposed to call me back by 7:00 -- he's got 45 minutes -- or I will call them back. They are very clever on the phone. But I want it to work.

Then there are the odd issues going on with my cousins, and various odd forms of communication with them. This is giving me agita, too. (Hey, agita's not a Yiddish word, so I don't have to translate. But the Hubs is Italian, so I can rightfully use that one, too. The best Yiddish I can come up with is tsuris, which means troubles.) Why isn't life just easy, eh?

Did you hear that the witnesses at Saddam Hussein's trial have been describing in horrific detail the torture that he had inflicted on them, but at the end of the day, he was all angry and said he wouldn't come back to the trial tomorrow because, among other reasons, he'd had to wear the same shirt and underwear for three days. No question about this guy's being a sociopath, is there? I'm not connecting this to the political issues at all, but seriously, he is missing a whole lot of human brain cells, I think.

I feel a little better having written, anyway, as the Hubs and R are both out tonight and so there is no one here to share my router misery with. But in 40 minutes, I'm picking up that phone.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here