the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oy 957

12.08.2005

7:00 pm

I wrote another cranky entry at school today that I'm not going to post. That annual debate tournament thing is The Suck. Enough said.

They're predicting another snowstorm for tomorrow morning. The one that was supposed to come on Tueseday never quite panned out here, so who knows what's going on now, except I'm not going in to work tomorrow because I'm having this minor little bump thing removed from my chin and really, I would so rather not drive in the snow. I have to be there at 6:15 in the morning, and it's not far, and I should be home by 8 or 9. But the snow is supposed to start and be at it's worst from maybe 3 to 10 am, depending on what source I look at. Either way, I want no snow, or ... well, I don't know what else, because I called the doctor's office and they said that they'll be there regardless. I don't know quite how that works, but I guess in the non-school world, it does. It snows and people still go to work and carry on with their normal lives, eh? Teachers just get the phone call and then it's a day off. (And they have to call me tomorrow if there's a snow day even if I'm out, because I have to post it. Well, it's not like I won't be up early anyway.)

Here's something to make me crazy. R decided that instead of taking the bus into the city tonight for this class she's been taking, she would drive. Oy! Now, she's a very good driver and I know it's not far into the city and it's easy to get to and ... are you convinced yet? I'm not sure I am. She should be home between midnight and one, and I'm tempted to stay up, although I have to get up at five to get to that doctor's office by 6:15. Hmm. It's a tough one. Hey, I never sleep more than four or five hours anyway, right?

Really, she needs to move out. She needs to get away from her crazy mother, and her crazy mother needs to settle peacefully into senility.

Speaking of which, my aunt had her 89th birthday last Friday. I called Saturday and left a message -- I hadn't talked to her for quite a while -- but when I talked to my cousin Saturday night, I was given to understand that if I did reach my aunt now, she would probably not understand who I am. (I last saw her in June at my niece's wedding; she lives in Florida.) And, she moved into some kind of assisted living on Sunday. And physically, she's healthier than most people, which is kind of sad for her. Her father lived to 92 and her grandmother to 96, so she's likely to keep going for awhile. I wonder what that will bring.

And speaking of the Elderly But Not Ancient, I was on the phone with my sister a few minutes ago, and I got a call waiting beep, which the caller I.D. showed was the ILs. I let it go, figuring that I could call them back when I got off the phone. But then they beeped in again two minutes later. Sounds serious, right? I took the call. It was the FIL calling to tell me that he got the email I sent him last night. Well ... er ... that's very nice. Get off the damn phone.

Oy. You'd think that kid could have called once she got there and before her class started. Doesn't she know me at all?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here