the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Update 959

12.10.2005

6:53 pm

Well, aside from part of my chin being purple -- and not in the good way -- I'm fine. I do have the stitches, so I covered them with a bandaid when I went out, although to tell the truth, I think the bandaid makes it more conspicuous. But I think there are lots of people who would gack at the site of stitches in someone's skin, so I might as well cover it when I'm out, including all week in school. Not pleased with that. I wish I didn't have to wait until Friday to have them out.

I expected R home from work around three, but she called them to remind me she had a haircut appointment, so I seized the opportunity and wrapped all the Christmas presents. All the ones I have, anyway. I'm still waiting for one arrival from Amazon, and for one store in town to get something in for the MIL that I ordered. And of course, whatever the Hubs picks out for his father, which I'll need to wrap at the last minute. Otherwise, I'm good. I even re-arrannged some things in the living room to make room for the tree, which I hope to bring up from the basement tomorrow. Then it's up to the Hubs to put the lights on; he's very good at that. But no ornaments on the tree until K is home, since that's something of a family project. (Actually, I hand the ornaments out of the boxes to the girls, who hang them. The Hubs watches. That's the tradition, odd as it is.)

.
.
.

A couple of hours later. I ate, I watched the end of Back to the Future II with R when she came home; I'd been watching the BTF movies on and off during the afternoon. BTF II is her favorite movie of all time. Go figure. The Wizard of Oz is on now. When she was about two, we watched The Wizard a minimum of once a day all summer long. It captivated her. So, a good movie day for her, I guess.

The drama club's play at the high school is tonight, and we have tickets, but I'm not going. Aside from having a purple chin, the doctor said not to wash my hair in the shower until tomorrow lest the stitches get wet, and I can't imagine leaning over the sink where I could potentially bash my chin into the side is a much better idea. So my hair is totally gross, and I'm not going out where I'll see people I know. In the past twenty years or so, I believe I have missed no more than five of the drama club's shows. Of course, for many of those years, one of my sister's kids or one of my own was heavily involved, but I saw them all before that, too, and since. I'm very glad that I didn't sign up to be one of the faculty chaperones tonight, since I'm not going; I've done that off and on for years too.

I'm not going to see Narnia until K is home, but I'm looking forward to it. I think I'm going to pick up The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe for a possible re-read tonight. I suppose I'll see all the other movies as they come out over the years, but the only other book I really love is The Magician's Nephew, which is awesome. I may have mentioned this somewhere -- ooh, it was in comments, I think -- but I had never heard of these books as a child, and only first encountered C.S. Lewis when I took a literature cours in college called Fantasy Fiction. (Yes. It was excellent.) We read Lewis' Perelandra Trilogy, which is a bit more scifi than fantasy, but still with his characteristic it's-a-Christian-allegory-but-you-don't-have-to-read-it-that-way aspect. The really incredible C.S. Lewis story is Shadowlands, which is not written by him but which is about him. It's a book and also a movie. If you've read anything about the Narnia movie, you may have seen that the owner of all rights to Lewis' work and the executor of his estate is his stepson, Douglas Gresham; Shadowlands is the love story of Lewis and Gresham's mother. It's a tearjerker, and one of my faves.


Since I started writing, I've seen the news, and today notes the passage of two prominent people of recent memory. Although I appreciated the talent of Richard Pryor, his impact on me personally was not significant. But Eugene McCarthy's was. His presidential run took place in 1968, the first election in which I was politically aware, if not old enough to vote. I still have my "McCarthy" campaign pin. It was this election that made me feel that there was a chance that there might be a voice that wasn't the same as all the others. (It was also the election that brought out strong feelings in everyone around me, including that rabid Young Republican I was later to marry.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Wizard of Oz
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here