the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

There's Perspective, and Then ... 963

12.14.2005

6:38 pm

I wrote a rather intense entry earlier today, and I was going to post it with a password, but I decided just to edit it and post it, along with some of the traditional fluff. There's been some serious stuff going on with people I know, none of it happening to me, but I've been doing a lot of listening and, consequently, thinking. I have no conclusions or solutions -- there are none -- but, for good or for ill, thinking. The entry was basically about other people, and rather than write something I really have no right to tell anyone else and hope that no one stumbles across it, I'll just improvise.

Some of it is about a very dear friend who is a glass-half-empty kind of person -- she freely admits it -- and a whole lot of point of view change that it appears is in order for her. If it's true than every cloud has a silver lining -- how trite -- then maybe she's getting it today, courtesy of someone at work who found out first thing this morning, just before coming in, that her children's father -- not married to her, now or ever -- went to jail last night for crimes against another child that I would rather not describe. She has never seen evidence that her little girls have been hurt, but she spent the day in horror, and, coincidentally, in the library, and we did our best to support her and be there for her, to the degree that such a thing was possible. If anything, I got a good look at what parental torment looks like. Not to trivialize the first person's issue, because it's not in any way trivial. Just a persepective thing going on all day.

Well, I hope that's non-specific enough. Probably doesn't make any sense at all.


Insert traditional fluff here.

The worst thing about the Jenny diet is that you have to have a big salad with lunch every day. Now, this is not intrinsically a bad thing. The problem is that you have to remember to go out every few days in the frickin' cold and buy salad, or salad ingredients. I hate that.

I believe that my Christmas shopping is officially done. The last DVD came from Amazon today and has to be wrapped. With any luck, the lights will be on the tree this weekend (although the Hubs will say "It isn't even Christmas for another week yet!"). And then I can put the gifts under the tree. This drives the twenty-something children crazy. I think they're crazy. It's not as if they think that Santa puts them there on Christmas eve. At this point, I go to bed long before they do; why not put them out the week before so the tree looks all complete? Sheesh.

Speaking of Jenny, I have been much better on it the last couple of days after a few days of just endless snacking. I even sneaked some potato chips the other night. From whom am I sneaking them? I have no idea. It just seems that potato chips when you're on a diet should be eaten in stealth. From me, I suppose. Oh wait, I was there and I remember eating them. So I'm thinking that the stealth thing is a bad plan for me.

They're talking snow and ice for Thursday night and into Friday morning. That should be fun.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here