the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hmmm 975

12.26.2005

12:59 pm

I actually thought I had written something yesterday, but I guess not. Maybe in the morning, I thought I'd write at night, and at night, I thought I'd already written.

I'm sick.

I'm not terribly sick, but it's coming on. I had a sore throat all day yesterday, and a sinus headache. That still today, plus a general bleah feeling. K just brought me back chicken soup from the kosher deli, which was yum. I'm looking at a slow week, although on Thursday, the two of us are planning to see Narnia and then Harry in IMAX right after. Otherwise, just a rest. A manicure Wednesday morning.

Speaking of which, one of the gifts the Hubs gave me which amused me no end was a gift certificate at the Nails place I go. He said he had been thinking about getting this but had no idea where I even went, but then one Sunday morning I'd gone out for a pedicure with my sister and he went to the garden store and happened to glance across the street and saw my car in the parking lot.

I have not a single Christmas gift to return, which I think is a first. The MIL did give me a silver necklace I am unlikely to wear, but I actually like it very much and R will probably wear it. She gave both girls gloves; K was reluctant to mention that she never wears nice gloves (as opposed to $1 CVS gloves) because she tends to burn holes in them when she smokes. So I acquired her gloves and paid her back for them. The most amazing thing the MIL got me was a gift card for Chico's: at last!

But the day was pleasant. We dreaded the traffic, but there was none. The BIL did not say any of his characteristic stupid things. (In fact, we notice that he does less and less of this in recent years. He must be mellowing after 50.) The niece on this side of the family, who is K's age -- let us call her The Other K -- was very social and pleasant. Her brother, however ... On the way home, R announced that if it ever falls to her to make Christmas dinner in her own home, she is not inviting him. No one will notice the difference. He seems like a nice enough boy, a college sophomore, but he almost never speaks, certainly not to any of us, and the moment dinner is over, he is lying on the couch watching basketball. He does not turn his cell phone off, and if we are not at the table, but just sitting in the living room, he will be texting people. His phone didn't ring last night, but I did see him talking on it at one point. In the past, I have heard him answer the cell phone (and his sister has done this, too) and say "Oh, nothing." No honey, you're not doing nothing. You're at Christmas dinner (or Easter) with your grandparents. Grow up.

I have two irreverent children, but one in particular gave me, among other things, for Christmas two ornaments. One of them is a silver ball that lights up and says "Merry Fucking Christmas." The other is this:

It is a Jesus sock monkey. Or, a sock monkey Jesus, depends on how you look at it. Either way, I apologize if it offends anyone, but it offends no one here and except for this picture, it won't be seen anywhere else. I have a particular fondness for sock monkeys, which is why she got it for me. (And for Christmas ornaments, as you know.)

Alas, one of K's gifts from her grandparents, as listed on her Amazon wish list, is a cookbook that details amazing cakes you can make, just by starting with a cake mix. Looks like I'm in for a big-eating week.

I listened to more of the Jimmy Carter book in the car on the way down to the ILs, and I think he is more interesting with every word. (Except for the North Korea negotiations part, which was a little slow.) Although he never comes out and says it, it's pretty clear that he loathes the current presidential administration. I think he's particularly disturbed by the way they misuse religion, the religion he believes in himself, to promote their political agenda. He has extremely strong religious beliefs, and they guide his life, but he is adamant about the separation of church and state, which is not what he sees going on these days, and it bothers him.

Okay, we're gonna watch us some Lost now.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching wating for the DVD to start
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here