the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Feeling Crappy 976

12.27.2005

5:11 pm

So far, it's all in my throat, but moving into stuffiness. My headache doesn't go away, it just migrates every so often and takes up residence in a different part of my head. This morning, if I turned my head to the left, it caused a sudden pain in that place behind my right ear that I call my soft spot, the circle about an inch and half across where there's no skull covering where they went in for the brain tumor. Stuff like that used to freak me out -- and I guess it's still worth a mention -- but now I know it's just part of the whole headache. It's been sitting in my forehead just above my right temple for the last several hours. I tried to take a nap before, but I kept snoring and waking myself up.

I went to Target with the girls this morning, and it wasn't crowded at all; we didn't even go obscenely early (which you can do with Target, because they open at 8.) But I passed on the supermarket trip with them this afternoon. They had expressed interest in going to the big Whole Foods in Edgewater, but when I said I was staying home, they decided not to go because neither one of them wanted to drive all that way. They had, however, expected me to drive all that way. I do hope they grow out of this one at some point.

Otherwise, I've been doing very little, which is just about my speed. K started watching Lost Saturday night, I think, and is up to episode 19, and I've watched most, but not all, of them with her. It's a lot less stressful when you know what's coming and aren't on the sharp lookout for all the clues because you already know them.

My one mission for the vacation is to delete the existing high school website and replace it with the new one. I can do this anytime, but I'm kind of hoping to wake up one morning and have my head really clear before I start it. Otherwise, I can be pretty sure that I'll forget something or other and it will take me hours to troubleshoot. Yes, I'll back up first. One of the things the Hubs gave me the other day, oddly enough, was another flash drive, so I know I've got the space.

I have no desire whatsoever for fruits or vegetables while I'm sick, which pretty much takes care of the diet for now. I'm not eating much anyway. All I want, it seems, is tea, and sometimes crackers, and oatmeal for breakfast. I really wish I could take some kind of decongestant, but that's verboten with blood-pressure medication. I shouldn't complain; it's my first cold of the year, but even so. Why can't I get sick and stay home from work, like normal people? When I was in high school, I had the flu every year over Christmas vacation, high fever and everything.

I'm going to go brew me a cup now, decaf green.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Lost
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here