the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

We're Back 990

01.08.2006

6:28 pm

The great sojourn is over; we got back around 1:30 this afternoon. It was generally a very good trip. Funny, after we got back from dinner last night, I let something slip about how cold it was and I was surprised it didn't seem to bother her, at which point it began to bother her and she was freezing cold, too. She said that it was actually the roommate who just graduated who was so frugal with the heat, and that I could turn it up as I as I could. Which I did, and I slept very comfortably. But there is actually no radiator or heat source in the bathroom, so you kind of just have to steel yourself when you go in there. Otherwise, it's very nice.

We did take a cab to the restaurant and met K's friend there, who was nice enough to drive us back. A lovely girl; I'm glad I got to spend some time with her. They've been friends since they were roommates as freshmen, but it hasn't worked out for them to room together since, which is kind of odd, but they're both in good situations and it's probably better for their friendship anyway.

The ride was extremely uneventful, coming and going. No traffic whatsoever. Here's the funny thing, though. I needed to get gas before the trip home, and I had forgotten to get it on I-95, where they have full-service gas stations. As it turns out, because I am from New Jersey and spend most of my time here, where it is illegal to pump your own gas, I actually don't know how to do that. (Go ahead, laugh at me.) I pulled into a station on Connecticut Ave. in DC and figured that I would just read the directions and I'd be fine, right? I mean, everyone in America pumps their own gas. I could do this.

Except I couldn't figure out how to get the gas cap off.

Finally, I went into the convenience store -- we have almost no convenience stores at gas stations in N.J. either, because people generally don't get out of their cars when they get gas -- and explained to the extremely nice clerk that I had no idea what I was doing. He came out and did the whole thing for me, which was above and beyond; I only needed him to get the gas cap off. I really must learn how that works one of these days.

I crashed on the couch for about an hour after we got home, which was good because I'd been fighting closing eyes for the last half of the trip home. (But it's okay, because terror at the prospect of an accident kept them open. I also snacked a lot.) My cold (which is much, much better) has really made my snoring worse. K said she could hear me last night from the other bedroom down the hall. The Hubs never complains because he sleeps like the dead and it doesn't bother him (although his snoring bothers me if I'm having a particularly insomniac night.) I did not want to snore there on the couch with the kid watching TV right there. I don't think I did, or else she was too polite to tell me.

As of tonight -- well, tomorrow, really -- I'm back on my diet. I have my meals, I just got some salad and fruit. It turns out that I gained back all but two or three pounds. I'd really like to lose a couple by my next weigh-in on Saturday. Time to go pick out something for dinner --

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Simpsons DVD
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here