the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

System Status 991

01.09.2006

5:22 pm

I'm tired of being cold. Just thought I'd mention it.

I have not snacked today, other than the allotted apple, so I'm proud of myself there. But really, I could eat ... well, something incredibly huge. I am soooooo hungry. But I'm being good. Being hungry when you know that you're eating ample nutrition will certainly not kill you. Or, for that matter, me. But I digress.

Friday evening I got a call from Accident Girl, again. She really is very nice, but you know, I'd like to just fill out the paperwork and let it go; I don't need a new friend. I let her leave a message, as I was on the phone with OldFriend at the time, and I called her back Saturday morning before we left. At 8:00. Heh. I told her I was going away for the weekend and would call her tonight. Which I shall do. I can't exactly avoid it, because there's humongous post-it right next to my computer that says CALL EVA. I will, I will.

The Colleague's got another grandbaby as of this morning, which is very happy news. It's boy number three for her; the baby has a big sister. Nothing goes smoothly with these folk and childbirth, it seems, but all appears to be well at this point. I'm very happy for her; just a few years ago she despaired of ever having grandchildren, and now there they all are. Ahh. My daughters may not be ready, but I am. Hey, maybe that's what I'll do when I retire: be a grandma.

Actually, I did think of a possible something to do when I retire today. One of the teaching aides came by to see if we had any info on this for her: her kid is 12, and she's been told by his school that his computer skills are deficient. She wants to hire a computer tutor for him. I suggested some people for her to ask -- the business teachers, mostly -- but I thought, maybe I could do that. My other thought is teaching computer basics to senior citizens, but the funny thing about that is that time would grow me out of a job; as the baby boomers age, there won't be that many senior citizens who don't know how to use a computer.

I renewed my gut-unfriendly antibiotic for another week. I do feel loads better, but not normal. Although as I mentioned to the Colleague earlier today, I probably haven't felt actually normal since I was about 12. Whatever normal means.

Two-cent stamps are seemingly unavailable. WTF? How did they change the postage rates without printing enough stamps to cover the increase? I have about 75 37-cent stamps sitting here on my desk. The local post offices are out, and they're back-ordered at the USPS site. I think it's all just a ploy to get us to use two 37-centers in frustration. More money for them. I am appalled.

My house is in disarray. Not that it isn't always, to some degree, but oy vey. I'm not even going to bother until K's gone back to school on Saturday, there's no point. I could be very busy on Sunday.

I'm going to go eat something now, lest I die.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here