the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Uh, I Was ... 996

01.15.2006

2:30 pm

I didn't write yesterday because my life is so BORING!

Yada, yada, took K to the train; the Hubs drove, thank god, because it was nasty rainy slick out there and to tell the truth, I'm getting to be afraid of driving in any weather. But afterwards, R and I made a big supermarket trip, also in a cold downpour, so it's not like I won't drive at all. K's train hadn't even arrived in DC before we cleaned her foods out of the fridge, her stuff off the coffee table, her towels out of the bathroom. Hee. It's just easier getting the house back to normal, and I have no idea when she'll even be home again, or for how long.

I was very tired last night, and managed to stay up until 9:30 - wow! - and then crashed. I slept very well, thanks to the miracle of modern science, and had even programmed myself somehow to eat only healthy, low-cal food when I woke up, which I did at 1:30 and ate a handful of edamame (green soybeans), one of my favorite snacks. But I could eat the whole bag if I wanted to, and I didn't. Go me.

The Sibs and I had our monthly pedicures this morning; it was snowing by the time we got up, but I soldiered on. The only thing I drew the line at was colored polish, because there was no way I was walking out of that place in the snow in flip-flops. I put my socks and shoes right back on. What's the point, you ask? Oh, there's a point. There are several. Another time, perhaps.

And on the way home from the pedi, it actually had stopped snowing, and I was driving up a hill near my house and when I got to the top, I could see bright blue skies -- really bright blue -- off to the ... west, I guess, and now everything is all sunshiney and pretty out there. But 23 degrees with a wind advisory, so it feels like 8. (In Celsius, that would be ... hah hah, as if I can do this ... -5 degrees, but it feels like about -13.)

My laundry is all done and put away, except for the load in the dryer, and my clothes laid out for tomorrow. Have I shared with you my plans for tomorrow? It's a half-day in-service day (because we have never once closed school for Martin Luther King Day -- don't get me started on that one) and the in-service is departmental, which means each department supervisor tells his/her staff what to do. Except I have no supervisor, and no one has told me anything at all about what to do all afternoon. And, mercifully, the SCM isn't coming in because he doesn't want to endure the day. Fine; I don't come in for some of these, either, but having already passed on one (or is it two?) in-service days this year, I feel compelled to be there for this one. (Not that anyone will know I am there or has given me work to do. But I digress.) Anyway, the Chum is also taking the day, because she's retiring this year and has about a million sick days left. So I have regular classes all morning, and then I'll come home for a nice hot lunch, and when I go back, I'm going to put on my little white earphones and listen to a goofy music mix that I put together the other day and work on my shelves. I've been weeding like crazy, since it makes no sense to take old outdated stuff with us when we move. Not that we don't weed as an continuing process, pretty much, but I'm being a little more brutal these days. So I'm actually looking forward to the in-service; I'll get some real work done and be entertained in the process.

And now I am going to do some exercise. Don't laugh at me. I am!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Columbo
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here