the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

In the News 1017

02.06.2006

7:15 pm

Okay, I'm not saying that there's anything good, really, about these cartoons which were published in Denmark, and which probably can't be construed as anything but anti-Muslim. I'm also not saying that El Presidente probably wouldn't just bomb the hell out of a country that ran disrespectful cartoons of Jesus.

But there is something just not right in this passage from a CNN article, no?

Islam forbids depictions of Mohammed. Many Muslims are furious at the drawings themselves, one of which shows the religious figure wearing a turban shaped like a bomb with a lit fuse.

In Paris, France Soir -- a newspaper that published the cartoons of Mohammed -- was evacuated for nearly three hours Monday after receiving a bomb threat.

Now really, take a look at this one.

Army Teaches Troops How to Pick A Spouse

There have been 56,000 divorces among the troops since this war began. So now, the Army is coming up with all kinds of clever programs to help people choose wisely when they marry and to deal with the stress, because, you know, it's really hard to be married when you're in the army!

Uh ... yeah. And without taking away from my support of the troops at the moment, I'm guessing that it always has been. And yet, how many people, do you suppose, were married just before or even during World War II and stayed married for 50 years or more? Plenty. They couldn't have all been miserable and just too inimidated by the values of their generation to get divorced.

I'm just saying.

I did indeed work today from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm, and spent virtually all of that time working on the cookbook collection, shlepping the books on and off the shelves and on and off of carts and re-labeling every single book and re-cataloging maybe 80% of them. Once again, my predecessor head librarian enjoyed cataloging like a game, and gave everything as complex a number as he had the ability to come up with, which makes finding things on the shelves something of a challenge. I simplified it a lot. My hands hurt.

The SCM, btw, called in sick, so at least I didn't have to deal with him during all that time. I did, however, have to feed the cats when I came home for lunch, so that was like 11:45, since I wasn't going to get a break all day except for lunchtime. I had to feed them again when I got home after 5:00. So it's been a good day for them, anyway.

It's taking me forever to finish this entry, and I'm finally going to admit to myself that I don't have anything else to say, and post it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here