the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

So That's Who He Looks Like 1018

02.07.2006

5:08 pm

Sometimes, something can be staring you in the face for years before you can really see it. I was noticing this morning that the SCM's pseudo-hippie-ish hair was sticking out behind his ears in a more triangular fashion that normal, and he was smiling broadly, which is for some reason always accompanied by his eyes bugging out some. And then I realized who it is he resembles, and so, finally, I can give you some idea of what he looks like:

Of course, he doesn't have the tuft of hair on top because he is bald on top, which has led more than one person to describe his hairstyle as a "skullet," which is the bald on top mullet. I can't really even describe his hair; it just hangs down from the bald spot and sticks out, sort of, and is about collar-length. He could make a short pony-tail at this point, which I already know is his favorite hairstyle of all time, but he doesn't. (He once told me that the morning of his interview here, he cut his ponytail off. Note that he didn't get a haircut for the interview, he just reached back with a scissor and cut off the tail. Okay, that's what his hair looks like.)

Heavens, I am the catty one today.

I got three new sets of books in today, one on drugs, one on systems of the body, and one on infectious diseases. But they are most noteworthy because they are probably the last new books we'll be getting in for at least a year. It's put a temporary hold on my recataloging project; I had started in on movies, radio, and TV this morning, but stopped when the shipment came, since I have to get those onto the shelves first.

A couple of weeks ago, when I was voting for golfwidow at the Bloggies, I came across a blog in another category called waiter-rant, which I've been reading. You should read yesterday's entry, too, because it's so worth reading. (If the entry titled Heaven and Hell isn't at the top, scroll down to it, February 6.)

So I stopped for coffee at Starbuck's this morning, and I noticed my optometrist sitting there, as I often do, and I never bother him, only wave if he happens to look up, because clearly he enjoys his morning alone time there. But today he came over to tell me that his son, whose Iraq blog I've linked to on the school website, is coming home this weekend on leave (he's stationed in Georgia, and has been there since he got back from Iraq a few weeks ago), and they're having a party for him Saturday night and they'd love for me to come. Well, that was just about the nicest thing! I'm not going, of course, because I'm not even comfortable in social situations where I know people, so this would be out of the question. But I was very touched to be asked. I thanked him and said I wouldn't be able to make it, but please ask Elliot to drop by the high school while he's home. I hope he gets the chance to come by.

.
.
.

So I just got back from getting my nails done, which is my every-other-week surreal experience. The woman getting her nails done next to me said something about probably falling asleep while she sat at the nail dryer, and that she would have to prop open her eyes like in A Clockwork Orange, which prompted a "Noooooo!" from me and I had to tell her about The Worst Double Feature Ever (which, you may recall, was A Clockwork Orange and Deliverance.) Then the woman doing my nails and the nail-doing person next to her carried on quite a long semi-conversation in Korean. I couldn't help but remember the Seinfeld episode where Elaine is bothered by the nail-doers speaking in Korean because she's sure they're talking about her. I find it actually quite pleasant and relaxing, especially today when Grace, who does my nails, seemed to be telling a long story, as opposed to give and take conversation between the two women, and since I cannot begin to understand a word of Korean, it was kind of like listening to music without words, but the instrument was a human voice. Anyway, when these women talk about us, even in Korean, they include us in the conversation, which can be pretty funny. Grace also does my sister's nails, and at one point, R's. They all know all of us; it's a very Mayberry kind of thing. Last summer, another woman was filing away at me, and asked when my niece was coming back from her honeymoon, but I didn't know. So she called out in Korean to Grace, clearly asking her when [Sibs' Name]'s daughter was coming home, and Grace knew.That's too funny to be bothered by.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here