the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Feeling All Stepped On 1023

02.11.2006

1:32 pm

R was just home for less than an hour between her two jobs, and it's a preview of things to come. By the time she gets out of this afternoon's job, which should be around five, the snow may have started, and she might as well just spend the night at her new apartment, which is only a few blocks from where she works. She was going to spend the evening there anyway to get her room ready for painting. The cable's being installed today, so she'll have TV and even Internet in her room while she puts up the masking tape around the doors and windows; the only thing she won't have is a bed to sleep in. But she tossed some blankets and a change of clothes for tomorrow in the car, and she'll call once she's settled in -- or email, I guess -- and then it'll be an evening without her home. Can you tell that mommy is having a bit of separation anxiety?

I am just feeling sort of all wore out today, so to speak. I've got no emotional energy left to give my work incident, nor does it deserve any more. That's done now. I'm also incredibly tired, since yet again last night it took me hours to fall asleep. I finally dozed off, I guess, on the couch at two or so, and woke up there at five and went in to bed. Woke up at 7:30. I need a nap.

Today's movies that I've recorded and am copying are Butterflies Are Free and Mr. Smith Goes to Washington. Later this afternoon, Soapdish, which I actually watched the end of while it was recording the other day when I got home from school, so I may not watch that one.

Butterflies was based on a stage play of the same name, which I saw in New York as a kid and loved so much that I went back to see it a second time with a standing room only ticket.The theatre was in financial reach of kids, even, back then. I'm sure my SRO ticket cost less than $5.00, and my first ticket with a seat probably cost less than $20. Musicals were more, but my friends and I would almost always go to the theatre with discount offers that we could pick up almost anywhere -- they still have them available in the office at school -- so a day in the city for us, including bus, subway, theatre, and maybe a snack wouldn't usually cost more than $25 each, which wasn't hard to save out of our babysitting money. We would go to the Wednesday matinee during the school vacations, and once or twice during the summer.

The unusual and expensive theatre I went to as a kid was once a year with my family, but also with my high school boyfriend, who loved theatre and especially musicals -- no, he wasn't -- and his family knew it and would give him great tickets for his birthday, Chanukah, whatever. He was, sadly, in the odd position of not having been an overindulged child, but he became an overindulged teenager, because when he was about 15, his older brother was killed in an accident and he suddenly became an only child and only nephew, and his family wanted to give him everything they could. (This is an odd tale, isn't it?) But he was a nice kid; his only actual self-indulgence was that he was a little overweight, but he was also a long-distance bicycler -- his bicycle was his real mania -- and expensive theatre tickets were harmless, eh? We went out for nearly two years, so I caught the benefit of that, and so saw some remarkable things on stage.

I am finding myself in the odd position of wanting to eat out of boredom but not being actually hungry at all. Maybe I've finally reached critical mass. While I was sitting around last night hoping to fall asleep, I wasn't even eating. The night before, I'd eaten more than half a box of Wheat Thins.

The snow, as I mentioned, is coming, a Nor'easter. What's a nor'easter? Without looking up a precise definition, I believe that it is a snowstorm that, if it were rain, would qualify as a hurricane. (It doesn't have an eye or anything like that, just hurricane-strength winds.) It comes from a specific direction -- it's either coming from the northeast or going there, but I think coming from, since a nor'easter in the New York/New Jersey area is usually hitting Connecticut/Rhode Island/Massachusetts at the same time, and they are northeast of us. I looked at the storm warning a few minutes ago, and we are due for 6" - 12" before it ends mid-Sunday afternoon. So it looks like I am in for the duration. If it feels cold in the house, which it will if the wind is as strong as they say, I'll be living on the couch under two (maybe three) down throws, wearing any number of layers of clothes.

Mr.Smith is into his filibuster now. I think I'll watch the end of the movie.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here