the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Proof 1027

02.15.2006

7:03 pm

So I'm thinking that the biggest part of my problem must be some kind of actual chemical depression, because unless I happened to think specifically about the Dreaded Trip to Canada, I was feeling pretty good today, outright cheerful here and there. This is pretty much how it happens to me, that I am in the deepest depths and then one day I am just okay. I still expect to be pretty tense tomorrow night, but for now, I am okay. I had a very smiley moment when I remembered that my immediately-after-school mission for tomorrow is to pick up K at the train, and I was very happy at the thought of seeing her tomorrow, and then I remembered why she's coming home. But I'm okay.

The SCM will be out tomorrow, in keeping with the theory that if you are lucky enough to own a cool vacation home, you also deserve to take a day off from work to have more time to spend there when all the peons are at work. But that means it will be a fairly quiet day for me. Allegedly, I have a big meeting with the principal, but most likely that will not occur, since I have not observed him to be the best follower-through on things he says he's going to do. I asked for some kind of confirmation today from his secretary, but she never got back to me.

I've got another bid in on an interlinear translation of Caesar's Commentaries. So that's proof too of my essential geekness, or is that nerdness? I never know the difference. Is there one?

When the Hubs got home last night, he gave me a Valentine's gift of a cactus sealed into a glass block. There's a sticker on the top that says "DO NOT OPEN! DO NOT WATER!" Heh heh. I am death to plants, and he knows it. He can't give me chocolate because I'm always on some kind of diet, and he can't give me roses because I am allergic. This is something of a weird gift, but it's a gift from someone who knows me well. I thought it was sweet and funny, which is tops for a gift in my book. Did I get him something? No. I've been too busy being a wacko lately. The best gift for him, though, is no gift, so I guess I did that right after all.

So that's my update. When I write tomorrow, they'll be on the road. I'll let you know how I'm doing.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here