the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Back to Nomral 1033

02.21.2006

4:58 pm

All things are as they were, only, I am here. (It's a cheesy old-TV thing.)

Indeed. The girls walked into the house last night on the stroke of 7:00. R immediately mock-collapsed on the living room floor. She looked like I felt on the drive home from Florida in '94. But she is a trouper, that kid. Did a helluva job, and made good time, too. Of course, she was still a bit cranky this morning, and she's entitled, but she had to go to work, and heigh-ho. If she's still functional when she gets home, she wants to go the Apple store, as her iPod was damaged on the trip -- it got soaked -- and, as misspinkkate will verfiy, a girl is lost without her iPod.

K is back in DC already; I took her to the train earlier this afternoon and she's already arrived. So I have a nice sense of everyone being where they belong, more or less. And tomorrow it's back to work for me, too.

I also had my bone density test this afternoon, and was surprised to hear that I am okay in that regard. The doctor seems to think that, given my mother's extreme osteoporosis and that my sister is already taking medication for it, the fact that nothing at all indicates that for me at the age of 53 means that the gene may have skipped me. Now, she probably just said that off the cuff, but she did say yes when I asked if it would likely show by this age. So, good news for me and hopefully for my daughters. Not that I'm not already about an inch shorter than I used to be, but I don't think that's necessarily an osteoporosis thing; I do have some bad disks back there. Whatever; this is good news, after all.

Okay, I'm expecting either a cranky or antsy kid to walk through the door any minute. Tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here