the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oh, Those Pesky Ides 1035

02.23.2006

4:14 pm

Maybe that explains why I was getting all concerned over March 15 being the day when something was going to happen. It's not as if I haven't just gotten my own personal interlinear translation of Julius Caesar's Commentaries on the Gallic War, the one I've been whining about wanting for weeks and weeks now. It arrived yesterday, and is all cute and old and Latiny. Not Latino, Latiny.

Which brings to mind that wacky SCM, for some reason, and here it is. He is fond of saying that he speaks Spanish. I have never been particularly convinced that he does. For years, if a new student came to the school who was Spanish-speaking, the SCM would begin a conversation, which even I could see was painfully slow, and embarrassing to the kid, who would always have to end up explaining that some word he'd used really meant something else. He also thinks he has a kick-ass Spanish accent. Well, we have a great many Hispanic/Latino students now, and the SCM is proud that he says all their names properly. The other day he told me that I had mis-pronounced a girl's last name -- Sepulveda -- and this it was properly prounounced like sepple-VAY-da. Uh .... huh. So I asked her today, and it was, of course, seh-PULL-vih-da. She said she'd never heard it pronounced the other way, ever. In fact, I believe, the SCM speaks Spanish about as well as I do, which is to say, I don't.

I have created another moronic audioblog:


this is an audio post - click to play

R should be home within the hour and we are off to another Apple store to pursue further iPod options. I believe that what she currently owns is an extremely shiny and pretty paperweight. We'll see what they have to say there. She's also considering making the jump to an iMac, which feels to me something like one of my children saying that she's changing her religion (not that we actually pursue religion here.)

I think I may try a bit of eye-closing before she gets here. It took an eternity to fall asleep last night.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching flipping channels
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here