the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Choose: No Guts 1039

02.27.2006

6:41 pm

I actually just wrote a whole entry that I decided not to post, inspired by an article in Newsweek about the possible backlash in the coutry against Roe v Wade. I'd like to think that I'm not posting it because it's not as well-written as I'd like it to be, but maybe I'm just a chickenshit. Abortion is such a sensitive issue. I've always said that it's one issue that I would march in the streets over -- in favor of the rights of individuals to make their own personal decisions, of course -- and it probably still is, although I've never found myself in a situation where I was called upon to do that. But I am appalled that there is a government of old men someplace (aka South Dakota) who think such decisions should ever be made by anyone but the individual woman in question.

Ach. Maybe I'll figure out a way to write it better, and put that up. I did write it once, circa 1974, and if I could find that, I'd post it just the way I wrote it then. The irony is that it's probably in the house somewhere, I'll just never find it.

I got the results of last week's cholesterol test, and it's 142. Even though I take cholesterol meds, it's never been that low, and I would have thought that was impossible. Finally, something works the way it's supposed to.

I finally got to talk to the principal this morning, although he's promising a more complete and detailed meeting later in the week. Well, we'll see about that, but for now, the library is being packed up in mid-April. We're closing circulation over the course of the next two weeks. (That part came from me, not him; I had gone to see him to approve my closing-down timetable and he finally produced an actual closing date for me.) The best part of the meeting, though, was that he asked if, during the interim, we could also manage to provide coverage for the computer lab. Hell, yeah! Having the SCM and I share computer lab duty means that neither one of us is being sent to cover the locker rooms, or being used as a fill-in substitute wherever they happen to need one. Computer lab duty is boring, but no worse than that, and it means that we can actually still teach computer-based research lessons because we'll have a place to do it. All things considered, not bad.

Speaking of boring, I'm going on a field trip tomorrow, but I'm really only accompanying 8 or 9 kids on the bus to a nearby student government convention because their actual teacher is running it and needs to be there early and stay late. Sadly, I do have to stay there all day with virtually nothing to do. I got picked for this task because the teacher in charge is an old friend and asked me, and it's four times between now and the end of the year and the library will be closed anyway for the last two dates, so why not me? I'm desperately looking for a book that will fit in my bag, even though I'd really like to just listen to more Harry on audio. But you know, when you see someone with earphones on, do you ever think they're listening to a book? No, you figure they're bored and listening to music. Wait, I will be bored ....

It's getting late; this writing two entries takes up time, even if I'm only posting one.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here