the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Cold ... Can't ... Type 1040

02.28.2006

7:32 pm

If one more person tells me that we're really not having a bad winter, I fear I will do serious damage. Yes, I know that statistically, it's been a mild winter. Only one blizzard so far, warmest January on record. I'm sorry. I'm cold. I am just cold all the damn time. I lived with litterbox stink for an hour or more after I got home today because I was too cold to go out to the trash again. (I went, eventually.) I can't stand the wind. I know it's colder in lots of places. I would not be able to live there. Hell, I can barely stand it here. So I'm a wuss. I'm a flash-frozen wuss.

Today's field trip was pretty much as expected. I did get to read a bunch of Harry, but otherwise I was sitting around talking to people and then I helped serve out the pizza at lunch. (Hey, how come only the women teachers were serving the pizza?) I was only in the high school for about twenty minutes in the morning and twenty minutes at the end of the day. Guess who managed to piss me off royally in that short time? What, he is the only one moving out of the library? He asked me yesterday, and this morning, and this afternoon, when do I think he should pack up the stuff from his desk? Uh ... duh ... I dunno. When you won't need to keep digging for stuff in boxes? When you're done with it? How long can that kind of crap take, anyway, ten minutes? He is such a f---ing baby.

And I'm tired, too, as long as I'm whining. I haven't slept much for the last three nights. Why can't I just go to bed and sleep, like a regular person?

The cat is annoying me for food, which makes perfect sense because I fed her about an hour ago. And I've been making a point of not getting mad at her or calling her names since her brush with death a few weeks ago. Instead, I've been staring back at her and giving her this wide grin, which must be pretty scary looking. Sometimes, it unsettles her and she goes away for a few minutes. This is what she looks like:

I won't even attempt to find out what I look like.

(Ooh, entry #1040. That was the number of the Daisy Girl Scout troop I led for the girls back in the day. We called ourselves the Tax Return Troop. But I'm guessing that the girls didn't so much get it.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here