the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Second Entry 1043

03.02.2006

8:41 pm

Why a second entry in an hour and a half? Why not?

I've finished my Harry, which I felt the need to do because after reading a whole lot of fan-fiction, I couldn't keep straight what was in the real book (The Half-Blood Prince) and what I had read online. And of course, it was wonderful. It always is.

I am also in the process of eating real food. Go me.

I watching that Windsor Castle show, which is about, as you can probably tell, life at Windsor Castle. Over the course of a year. It's a three part series, and tonight is the third part. I'm not sure why I watch this, because I can hardly understand a word anyone is saying. Nevertheless. Not so much "how the other half lives" as it is "how one royal family lives", but interesting.

The cat is continuing to climb me. I don't actually feed her every hour, she just wants food all the time. She would be very happy if she had food continously, like an I.V. drip of canned whatever-that-crap-is into her mouth. Okay, she just actually fell off my knee and onto the floor. She is not posessed of catlike grace, and never has been. And she's got 45 minutes to go.

Why am I so freaking hot? My feet, of course, are cold, but I am rarely otherwise hot unless in the clutches of a flash, which does not seem to be the case. It's disorienting.

Once again, I am somewhat better after venting here, which is probably why I'm writing a second time, that and the hope that none of you will bother to go back and read the first one. Okay, if you want to. Really, not my best work. But not my worst, I should think. (Oh, I'm all Dumbledore-sounding now.)

My house, btw, is an absolute sewer. I keep thinking that I will finally whip it into shape after R goes, but of course, K is coming home for spring break next week, so I may as well wait until after that. Did I mention that I may end up working over what they are laughingly calling our spring break, the three school days before Easter? Someone thought that would be the best time to get the library books packed up. They will allegedly pay me for working the extra days, but since I've never known anything like that to happen in all my years there, I seriously doubt it. I don't think the school building will even be open on Good Friday, so at least I'd have that day off. Which I'm sure I'll be using to get the kid to the train. Boy, will I be glad when the semester is over and my four years of to-and-from the train station are over.

I just pitched a fit at the cat, waving my arms and making random noiseand lolling my tongue back and forth and shaking a pill bottle I happened to have in my hand. She backed off, but was not particularly disturbed, and will be climbing my leg like a tree again in a moment. The Hubs, ever alert, has not come into the room to see if I am having a seizure or what.

No, wait, he did. Well, that's a comfort.

Pardon me, I am going to rip the clothes off my body. In ten minutes -- less -- I'll be huddled under down comforters. Really. Some days you get the bear and some days the bear gets you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Windsor Castle
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here