the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Poop. Poopy. Poop. 1042

03.02.2006

7:14 pm

It's that kind of day. I am kvetchy and cranky, and for no real reason. I was really cold. Now I'm hot. I feel like I'm tired of this life, and ready to move on to the next one, thank you. I don't mean that in a do-something kind of way, more in a karma kind of way.

Oops. Hold on.

I left you for a moment; it was time to call the Sibs. Because I am only allowed to call her every day between 6:30 and 7:00 pm, and here it is, almost 7:00, and I hadn't called because I was waiting to hear from R, and because I was reading Harry. R called, and I urged her to stay in the apartment tonight because I don't want her driving home on the icy Parkway. I have 35 pages to go in Harry, but I stopped to talk to R and then start writing and then I remembered to call my sister. Since Shirl and Jack are gone, we like to check in with each other every day, if possible. Okay, we pretty much always did that. She almost never calls me; in fact, I believe that her husband -- whom I am very happy she's married to, btw -- would be delighted if I vanished from the world completely, because my existence distracts her from him, and he simply engages her attention so that she doesn't think of calling me. So I believe. Anyway, I've got this half-hour window, max, that I can talk to her each day between her afternoon nap and when she's eating dinner, and, are you ready, the syndicated rerun TV show that the two of them watch together every day from 7:00 to 8:00. And then she goes to sleep. So if I miss my window, that's it for the day. If I call too close to the window, well, that's it. Plus, she has a fairly annoying habit -- this precedes the husband -- of starting other conversations while she's on the phone. This is not that other people talk to her and she has to answer, although of course, that happens, too. No, if someone walks into the room where she is, she will simply start to talk to them. And I'm hanging there on dead space like a schmuck. Have I told her that this is troublesome to me? Yes, I have. I have said, and recently, that I feel my opportunity for talking to her is limited to begin with, and it would be nice if she at least devoted her attention to me while we were on the phone together. She apologized. Now, she just feels guilty when she does it, but she still does it. If anything, I think this has made her less interested in being on the phone with me.

Shit. Oh, I said that already.

So we had weather here today, nasty wet snow/slush that didn't really start until about 8:00 am. Every other school district, outside of ours and those few near us, declared an early dismissal before the school day even started, but we had to wait for the announcement, and for the lunch periods to be over. I got home at 2:00. I shoveled a little bit, since it had stopped snowing, and then when I looked out the window again at 5:00, it was all covered over. I guess I'd been so engrossed in the Harry and trying to get my feet warm that I didn't even realize it had started again. Anyway, R is indeed staying at the apartment tonight, so even though I'm missing a nice evening watching last night's Lost with her, I'm way happier that she's not on the road.

So here's the new way I'm sabotaging my diet and health. Not only do I come home from school and have a snack or two, I have one at 5 or 5:30, which makes me not interested in any actual dinner food at all. I just have more snacks later. Swell. The thing is, I'm eating snacks that I don't even really enjoy, I just feel somehow compelled to eat them. I mean, I enjoy them when I eat them, but feel crummy afterwards.

I'm such a barrel of laughs today.

I'm anticipating a glitch in the library closing timetable tomorrow, courtesy of the morons currently running our guidance department. I think that's what set me off today, actually; one of them -- or both, I think -- had presented their plan for sucking up the library's last open week for testing to the SCM this morning before I got in, and naturally, he hit me with it before I took my coat off. I so hate it when he does that. But neither of them said anything to me, and the principal's already approved my schedule, which conflicts with theirs. Theirs would actually delay the beginning of the packing by a week, and make the library unavailable to anyone else during what was supposed to be the last week we were open for class use. Way to self-centered, folks.

Ach. The cat is climbing up me again. I was napping on the couch after I got home before, and had actually fallen asleep, and she woke me up my pawing at my face, just near my eye. Let me tell, that freaked the hell out of me.

And let me sum up my day. I am going to make about my 400th potty stop of the day -- TMI -- and finish Harry. If I'm lucky, I'll be awake for Earl later on. And possibly squeeze an ounce of actual nutrition in there somewhere.

I'll be better tomorrow. Most likely.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here