the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Silly Sunday 1046

03.05.2006

6:08 pm

I ran all over this morning, to the sale at CVS, and then Target, and finally to the supermarket. I forgot to get milk, or, more precisely, I didn't realize that I needed milk, so I got that when I went out later to bring things to recycling. I did some basement cleaning, and some upstairs-girls'-room cleaning. I tidied up the kitchen. I have no idea where all this energy came from.

The annoying thing was I wanted a cheap, small TV to put upstairs when K is home and in the basement while I'm working there, but the one I brought home was


  1. missing some parts, like one of the attachable feet and the antenna, none of which are really needed

  2. rang up for $30 more than it was marked on the shelf

  3. did not actually work, getting picture but no sound


Crap. So it's back to Target after school tomorrow, which means I have to drag the damn thing back downstairs and back into my car and back into the store. I had also already used the Target bag -- I bought other little things, too -- for garbage and that's where the receipt was, so yes, I had to go outside in the cold, open up a tied bag of garbage, and dig for it. Oh, yuck. At least I hadn't used it for kitchen-y garbage. But even so.

My marvelously organized daughter moved out of the house yesterday, and realized last night that the bridal shower she was going to today? Left the gift here. So she stopped by this morning after all. If only I had known then that the cable remote in her room is missing. I shall have to ask her about that tomorrow.

Who watches the Oscars, eh? I have always watched them, even in years when I haven't seen a single nominated film, although this year I have remarkably seen two of them. It was always an event in my house; my mother and sister and I would hunker down with snacks in front of the best TV in the house. My father did not deign to watch such things, but he always knew who won and who was nominated. He was very funny that way. He also knew all the Hollywood gossip about the stars and their marriages and such, but it was years before I even knew that about him. He didn't share the gossip, he just liked knowing it, I guess. Like a guilty pleasure. It was otherwise extremely out of character for him to know stuff like that. World politics and economy, yes, he was the go-to-guy. The name of Cary Grant's third wife? How did he know that stuff?

Anyway, the girls and I have also always watched the Oscars together, but there have been years when they've both been away at school, so it's not like this is the first time I'm watching them alone. I usually don't even manage to stay up for the last hour myself. I like the major awards shows, cheesy as they are.

I have a million things to do this week, both in school and after, and I'm taking Tuesday off to get the taxes done. I totally did not need an extra trip back with that TV. K is coming in for spring break on Thursday, around 7:30 at night, and I think the Hubs will go with me to the train, which will be nice. I'm not a fan of driving in the dark, but I'm less a fan of walking around that weird little train station by myself at night.

My card catalog, pictured in my last entry, is quite large, yet I would love to have it in my house if only I had a place for it. I think it's about the same size as my piano. (Yes, it's a small piano.) I'm sure they would let me have it if I wanted it. The thing is, there is just nothing it can be used for. The drawers -- 120, I think -- are about 20 inches deep and otherwise, three by five inches, since the drawers are made to hold index cards. The bottom of each drawer is open, so you can't put anything in it, because it'll fall through. Also, each drawer has a metal rod that runs from a knob on the front of the drawer and all the way through to the back, which was used to go through the hole at the bottom of each card to keep all the cards in place. In other words, it is useless as anything other than a card catalog. Even so, I have taken home three or four smaller catalogs, 16- and 20- drawer pieces. I've had them for several years; I used to use them as end tables.

.
.
.
Eating now. Excuse me.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Andy Griffith Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here