the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Day After 1049

03.07.2006

4:55 pm

I totally know that the crap at work is not my fault. I was venting a whole lot yesterday when I wrote the first entry, and that was a part of what I was feeling, even though I know better. And in general, I am much better today, probably because I'm not there today, but also, I've been thinking over different aspects of it. The only conclusion can be that since these administrators have set this all up so that I can't do 99% of my job, well then. I'm not knocking myself out trying to figure out ways to do it when they couldn't give a shit. I'll do what I can. Part of that involves not sitting in the math lab, if I can find anyplace else, because that would just be like sitting through a verbal assault every day. Perhaps I shall play the deaf card. Gotta think about that one.

I am just back from the accountant; you'll all be glad to hear that I am not going to prison after all. I am really just abysmal at keeping financial records, despite the fact that I have been doing it since we were married a hundred years ago, and I am always sure that I have made some terrible mistake that will lead to serious consequences. Not prison, perhaps, but it is the IRS, and they can do whatever they want to pretty much anybody. My only transgression this year was in not having some income-reporting form I needed, but it is quite likely that it is still in the Hubs' briefcase, in which case, not my fault. He can get another copy of it anyway if he doesn't have it. I so hate doing this every year.

(Imagine clock hands spinning around.)

So now I'm back from my afternoon activity, which was getting a haircut. Oy. And vey. It's just a little on the short side, and it was short to begin with. If I didn't have, you know, all the gray, not to mention the DDDs, I would be mistaken in public for a little boy. Since I'm an old woman with big knockers, that's relatively unlikely, but seriously. I got me no hair.

The empress has suggested in my comments that I might make a good candidate for the Board of Education. Actually, I have given this a little bit of thought. The biggest fly in the ointment is that the meetings start at 8:00 in the evening and end at 1:00 or 2:00 in the morning, which I could never do. That sounds trivial, I know, but it is a consideration because it would be embarassing to fall asleep in public. The other realization is that there is already a former teacher on the Board and let me tell you, she is one kick-ass smart woman, and they pretty much give her no acknowledgement and I'm sure that after her current term is up, she won't waste her time. It's a Board that is not interested in progress, just in rubber-stamping what the administrators want. It's very hard to break through. What I would like to do, though, is that when I retire, I want to go to Board meetings -- I can leave when I get sleepy -- and just sit with my arms folded and stare at the various school officials. I was thinking about this earlier today. I was reminded of the part in You've Got Mail, after Tom Hanks has put Meg Ryan out of business, and he tells her that it was business, it wasn't personal, and she says, Well, it was personal to me. Hey, revenge is hard to come by, but daydreams about saying just the right thing to people who deserve it are fun.

I wish I had some Pez.

Okay, I'm just being random now. Time to feed Q, for a change.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here