the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Tired. And More Tired. 1054

03.11.2006

8:19 pm

So, last night around 8:00 or so, I mentioned to the Hubs that I had just pre-ordered the Good Night and Good Luck DVD, and he said, "You told me that the other night."

Uh. "When did I tell you that?"

He thinks a minute. "Wednesday night, when you were in here watching Mythbusters with me."

When ... what? What?

He proceeds to describe about twenty minutes when I sat in his little study with him, watching the show, commenting on he furniture, and so on. I begin to recall saying something about his desk. Otherwise? I was asleep.

Either this is true sleep-walking, or I was stuck in a pre-sleep foggy state brought on by the sleeping medication I take. Either way, the idea of doing something like this scares the crap out of me, and is the reason I stopped taking the stuff about two years ago. Then I started it up again, because really, there's only so long a human being can go without sleep. And I may be on the verge of finding out exactly how long that is.

I didn't take the pill last night. I did fall asleep, several times, in fact, sometimes on the couch and sometimes in bed. Sometimes I slept for ten minutes, or twenty. I never slept for more than an hour at one shot. Between each time I was sleeping, I was awake for an hour or so.

This sucked. But it wasn't as bad as when I didn't sleep the night the girls drove to Toronto three weeks ago, when I literally did not sleep at all, plus I was full of anxiety the whole time. I wasn't anxious or upset last night, because it was what I expected to happen.

What I didn't expect to happen -- men, if there are any of you, feel free to quit right now -- were the hot flashes. Holy. Moley. Each time I woke up, I woke up on fire. Maybe that's all the sleeping pill does for me, drug me enough so that the hot flashes don't wake me up. Or maybe last night was a particularly bad night; I don't know. Man, this was something I did not anticipate. I can't even describe it. The same thing happened when I took a nap this afternoon. What will tonight bring?

Anyway, we just got back from visiting R in her new home and going out to dinner, the four of us, a relatively rare event. I can't even begin to guess when I'll go to sleep tonight, or if I will. Needless to say, I am exhausted. I still haven't decided whether to continue the no-pill experiment, or go back to the old pill I used to take, a lower dosage that never triggered a sleep-walking incident but which probably won't do anything at all.

Btw, sleeping pills? I have always been opposed to them on principle. But it's not the drug that's addictive, it's sleep. Human beings have got to sleep. Decisions, decisions. Just goes to show you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Little People, Big Dreams
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here