the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Quiet Sunday 1055

03.12.2006

4:35 pm

I believe I have not actually been out of the house today. Oh, I moved my car out of the driveway. Wait, I picked up something at the pharmacy. So it seems I have been out of the house, but not for more than 15 minutes altogether. I'm sticking to that one.

I did sleep last night, and not too badly, by my standards. Which is to say, I woke up several times and spent a couple of hours in the middle there sleeping on the couch. But I feel much better today, and that's a plus.

K went to church this morning, another religious service she had to attend for a class she's taking. Even so, the words "went to church" or "went to Sabbath services" do not roll off the tongue in this house, so it sounds funny to say. She went to the minister's house for lunch afterward, which seems even weirder, but his son is one of her closest friends and he had come home from school for the weekend to do this with her, and his parents were really happy to have him home, so a big Sunday lunch, complete with his favorite foods, was fun for them too, I think. It's an odd world, isn't it?

R is due to arrive shortly, and will have dinner with us -- her favorite foods, too; take-out sushi -- and stay for a movie and a visit. Amazingly, I have never seen that original Cutting Edge movie, although my girls have seen it millions and millions of times, but I guess I will be watching its made-for-TV sequel, since the girls are bonding over that tonight and will be watching here in the family room where I spend all my time. I'll have no frame of reference, but that's irrelevant, really. I'll have them. They are very interactive TV watchers, especially R, and I'll pick up anything I need to know from what she says back to the TV, as well as to her sister.

I watched Stage Door this morning, which I've seen many times, but I like. I checked out the schedule of movies coming up in the next month or two, and I came up with 16 titles to add to my insane little collection. One of my favorites coming up in a couple of weeks is Throne of Blood. Ever see that one? It's an Akiro Kurasawa film starring Toshiro Mifune, and there's very much a Samurai thing going on, except for one thing: it's Macbeth. In fact, I originally saw it when I was in high school; they showed it to us as part of the study of Macbeth, but I don't think it's shown much anymore, if at all. But it's a really good production, as I recall, once you get past the Samurai aspects of it. The Macbeth character gives his final soliloquoy with about a thousand arrows sticking out of his neck. Cool.

Speaking of DVDs, I think I may break down and go to IKEA this week and pick up a small DVD bookcase, since mine have reached critical mass. R got some nice ones for her apartment; I think they were 14.99 each, and I have just enough room to fit one in. It's not showing on the IKEA website, for some reason, but we just picked them up there a few weeks ago and I even know where they are in the store. Even so, it's not far, so a wasted trip would only be a half hour out of my life. Except that I'd still have to find a place for the DVDs. I think they're breeding.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Romy & Michelle ...
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here