the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Have a Headache 1056

03.13.2006

7:49 pm

Going on four days now. Just thought I'd mention it. I think it's connected to the whole sleep thing, which was so-so last night.

K and I did indeed to IKEA after school and my DVD problem is resolved. I knew you were worried.

I packed up a store-room today at school, and some more of my desk. And threw out a whole lot of crap that's been there forever for god knows what reason. And then I spoke at the faculty meeting.

We had divided the staff into three smaller groups, and the other two GSA advisors and I each took one, and talked about the legal need to address and stop homophobic -- and other -- hate speech. The NJ Supreme Court recently decided that schools can be held liable for the atmosphere of fear in which students who are targeted are then forced to live, and school staff needs to know that they are obligated to stop it. It led to a nice little discussion in my group, and we still got out early. (We were the only item on the agenda, hence, a short meeting.) So I feel like I did something worthwhile today, which I haven't been feeling a lot at work lately, let me tell you.

What else is there today? Not a thing I can think of. Things are just rolling along. It's very, very nice to have K home; my girls are different from each other in a variety of ways, but each one is an extremely pleasant companion. She's going back on Wednesday, another day I need to take off to get her to the train. I must say, I'll be glad when she's graduated and that's all over.

Well, I'm going to watch the end of an SVU episode now. The kid's a big fan, and we've been watching plenty of it these last few days. The only bad thing I can say about is it won't put me to sleep. If you know what I mean.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SVU
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here