the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Eternal Life in Cyberspace 1074

04.01.2006

5:16 pm

I have gotten four comments this week on this entry, which I wrote nearly three years ago. It's one of my favorite entries, actually, but the comments have nothing to do with me or what I wrote about, and all relate to an obscure product I mentioned in passing. How are people finding this? Why are people looking for it?

Somehow I slept very deeply last night for four hours or so in a row, and I woke up alert and awake at about 5:00 am. Chalk up another anomaly for me. I didn't get out of bed until 6:00 or so, at which point I made the big decision not to go to the supermarket then. "Oh, I'll go in the afternoon," I thought. Yeah, well.

After I went to the cleaners, which opens at 7:00, and got good coffee, I came home and set about the closet project. It went quite well, actually; sweaters are all packed up, heavy fleeces and sweatshirts are not taking up hanging space, short-sleeved shirts are at the ready. Every item of clothing I own is clean and put away in its proper place. I even listened to a bit more Harry while I was working.

I looked at the clock. It was just past 9:30.

Gah. The day skews all weird when you wake up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed that early. Here I was done with my big weekend project, plus it was still early enough to get to the supermarket before the 10:00 crowd gets there. So I got that done, too. Came home, watched some things I'd recorded, and then ...

My my, I am just so efficient. (Not that I'm cleaning the house, mind you. but the litterbox corner is certainly taken care of.) I've had no place to go, no outside chores to do. Did some more laundry, watched some more movies. Emailed back and forth with each of the girls once or twice. Read the news about a dozen times. The thing is, I'm not bored, really, because I'm at a very even emotional place for the last week or two, and very little pushes me over an edge when I'm even. I loooove even. Too bad it's so rare.

It appears that winter is actually gone. If so, it has been one of the least snowy winters in recent years, despite the one good blizzard. It rained off and on today, but there were also periods of sun and warm breeze. It was wonderful to be out in it, no jacket or even sweatshirt. I even had the windows open for awhile, but then the rain was coming down heavy.

So now I'm watching Operation Petticoat, a 1959 movie that I remember seeing in the theater. I remember that at the time, I saw it as about "an old guy" -- Cary Grant -- and "a young guy" -- Tony Curtis. I must have been six years old. It's certainly the first Cary Grant movie I ever saw, the first of many, many, as I am a big Cary fan. I didn't know until today that it was directed by Blake Edwards and got a variety of Oscar nominations. It's really very clever. Here's a great Cary line I heard a moment ago: "I like having gray hair. That way, when I worry, it doesn't show."

It's within an hour of Q's feeding time, so naturally, she's looking at me:

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Operation Petticoat
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here