the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Fried Brains on the Side 1081

04.09.2006

6:34 pm

I have really had a perfectly delightful day, which means, in my world, that I didn't go anywhere or do anything. I believe this is called being "a housebody", but in my world it is also being "a couch potato" or, if you will, "a computer potato." Hey, it makes me happy.

A brief recap of my weekend shows that I didn't do much more yesterday, except for the Great Make-up Fiasco. Here's the stupid story. Clinique discontinued my favorite make-up, and I don't care for their replacement for it, so I decided to go for all new. I was encouraged in this pursuit by a commercial I saw on TV when I was in Florida that was for a new line of make-up for the .. ahem ... more mature woman. It looked good, so I repeated the name of the make-up line to myself about 20 times, and went to sleep, comforted by the certainty that I would remember the name when I got to go shopping.

Uh, yeah. Right.

So I had no idea whatsoever, except it started with a V and ended with nce. Variance? Valiance? No clue. I went to the make-up outlet store yesterday and picked out all kinds of stuff and then narrowed it down to your basic Almay. I tried it out last night and it was all good, except the powder came with a powder puff and I thought a brush would be better. Mental note: see if I have a make-up brush somewhere, or buy one.

Then in the CVS flyer this morning they had the whole line of Almay cleanser and toner and whatnot, and they were on sale and I had a coupon. Went and got that. Did I pick up the make-up brush? Certainly not.

So once I remembered that I forgot the brush, I pulled out the two boxes I keep all that kind of stuff in. One box is actually all Clinique stuff, mostly sample sizes that came in Clinique bonuses (because I am a terrible sucker for the Clinique bonus), and some other stuff, mostly things I'd bought to have as backups so I could qualify to get the bonus for free.

Still with me?

I found two brand-new, tiny little sample sized make-up brushes, so that was cool. Oh, and I also found two, not one, but two, backups of the discontinued make-up. I never had to change anything at all.

Yes. Well.

So as if that wasn't indication enough of the fried-ness of my brain, I've also been catching up this weekend on the television I missed while I was away. I had seen Lost, but I watched it again. I had movies to copy to disk. And I had a bunch of Law and Order SVU episodes. Yes, a bunch. I watched eight of them today. Eight.

I have such an exciting life. Don't you wish you was me?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SVU
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here