the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

At Least I Had Something To Do 1082

04.10.2006

7:40 pm

The library was officially closed as of today, which did not stop people from coming in. We still let teachers in, even to use the computers, but one of them -- moron -- walked right by the five we left on and turned on one that I had already shut down prior to pulling all the plugs for packing up. The kids -- well. Some stood there, looking at the huge closed sign stretched across the doorway and asked if we were closed. Why, yes, yes we are. One little sweetie asked if he could come in between classes and just look up a book; he would come and take it out at lunchtime. I just looked at him, and then he smacked himself in the head and said "Oh, right, can't take out books!" and slunk away.

At 8:00, I confirmed with the principal that all is still on track -- it is -- and then started breaking things down. It was a very weird and busy day. The first thing I did was take apart the I.D. card system computer, load it on a cart, and move it to the new room (over whose door I have posted the sign Library in Exsilium.) No need to re-assemble it yet, as it is well known that replacement cards are only available on Wednesdays. Wouldn't you know that an hour later, a boy came in -- with his mother -- saying that his driving test was today and he needs a new school I.D. Well, gee. Ordinarily -- this happens at least once a month -- I print them a new card, as long as I have their picture on file, even if it isn't Wednesday (which is the only day I set up the camera.) But this kid was out of luck. As the expression goes: Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.

We moved lots and lots of stuff to Exsilium; everything, actually, except our computers. Those are going tomorrow. And our desk chairs. The Colleague, who is going not to Exsilium but to the general office, is actually taking her desk, although the rest of us are making do with desks that are already there, or little computer desks that were moved in there today.

I got to go out for iced coffee around 1:15, and listen, if that's a harbinger of things to come, I can deal with it. I liked that part.

The mover did come in this morning, and we went over the plan for Wednesday. He gave me a roll of pink stickers to flag all the furniture and equipment (i.e., everything but books) that's going, so I walked around this afternoon slapping those on, re-labeling boxes we'd packed, and so forth. I also marked a few pieces that are going to different classrooms, and others for discard. I will admit that the closest I came to a teary moment was when I marked the card catalog for discard, but who didn't see that coming. I wrote DISCARD and a little sad face on the masking tape.

So I was busy, and I will be tomorrow. All the keyboards, cables, and mice have to be put into plastic bags that the mover left with me today. This would be a lot easier if the genius tech who put the "new" computers out two years ago hadn't bundled all the cables tightly, put thick plastic ties on each bundle, and stuffed them down into the cable conduits. Actually, I requested that she come in and disconnect it all. I'll do the bagging part. The techs are supposed to be installing network drops or hubs or splitters or whatever they're calling it tomorrow so that we can connect to the network. No network, really, no nothing, not even Internet.


Hey, baby's birthday today! She's 22, omg, how is the baby 22? That's twenty-two years old, not even a landmark, just an anonymous adult birthday age. We called her before when the Hubs got home and she sounds good and happy. Hey, that's what you want to hear. She's coming in this weekend because we may have missed Christmas with the ILs for the occasional blizzard, but never, I think, have we missed Easter. Really, what excuse is there? At least they don't still make the kids hunt for eggs.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here