the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not Slytherin. Not Slytherin. 1092

04.20.2006

5:38 pm

I am sick of that place and I don't want to talk about it. Just so you know.

I am moving back into that mental place where I think about food and how I can reduce the WW points of everything I eat and I keep reading nutritional labels and websites and checking stuff on the WW site and ..... ahhhh. It actually feels good, like I've re-established some control over things. I still haven't weighed myself and I'm a little afraid to, since today I had to take my wedding ring off and put it on my neckchain, because it was too tight. So even without checking the scale, I'm officially heavier than I've ever been before (except when I was pregnant), since I've never had to do that before. But I feel positive and encouraged, so that's good. I expect to meet my points goal for today, yay!

It's going on about 81 degress out there now, at a quarter past five, so it's our first really hot day. We had to turn on the A/C in the computer lab, since the windows aren't accessible anymore, although I had to climb on the fairly wide windowsill and walk along it -- most amusing for the kids in the room -- to reach the switch. I broke down and turned it on at home, too. Since when is it necessary to turn on the A/C less than two weeks after turning off the heat? Oh, right, it's that warming thing, I guess. Anybody ever see that Twilight Zone where the earth is closer -- or farther -- from the sun, hmmm?

I am being very delinquent about getting Q's claws clipped, although the only one who suffers as a result is moi. I just can't bring myself to call and then chase her down and pack her up. I wish she'd just let us do it, but I'd need one of those padded suits people wear when they teach those self-defense classes, and a fencing mask.

I'm also psyching myself up to call the MIL and exclude the two of them from the graduation plans. I sure wish that little phone call were over.

.
.
.

Five minutes have ticked by. I called. Now, it's over.

As I suspected, I think it was a relief for them. I fed them the little white lie that there are only three tickets per graduate (for me, the Hubs, and R), and they bought it immediately. (I was talking to both ILs on their speakerphone. Hate that.) They didn't sound upset or sad, just said "Well, that's the way it is, what're you gonna do," so, EXCELLENT! Time to cancel that particular hotel reservation, which would have cost roughly $500 and no mention ever made of them paying for it themselves.

The aforementioned animal is now clawing up my jeans leg because her anticipated feeding time is within the hour. As is mine. First her.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here