the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's the Witching Hour 1091

04.19.2006

7:28 pm

You'd think I had some kind of intense social life, the way my phone calls are scheduled. If this isn't part of Shirl's legacy, I don't know what it is. But I don't think I'm the one scheduling them; it's the people I speak to, in this case, all two of them. I can only talk to my sister between 6:00 and 7:00 pm, and she wasn't there (or not picking up) when I called at 6:00. And K calls every Wednesday between, you guessed it, 6:00 and 7:00, usually at 6:30, which makes her late tonight.

I could do with just a bit less structure in my life, I think.

I will not bore you with tales told out of school; it is boring enough for me to be there, and I'd rather not think about any nasty stuff that may happen until it does. The budget did pass yesterday, which is something of a miracle, and by a considerable margin. I believe that New Jersey is in the minority of states that require the voting public to approve or dissaprove the local school budget each year. This is a crock, since it's the only budget people get to vote on and therefore it is generally defeated, and then stuff gets cut and programs suffer. We go through series of good years, when it passes, and then a bad period when it doesn't. Maybe this year is a sign of turn-around.

My arm was much better today, although it's a little more sore now, as the day ends. I lowered my desk chair at work and changed my keyboard around a bit, as the empress suggested, and was much more careful to use my left arm to open doors and carry things. And I've been much more careful with the cleaning I'm keeping up with, just using my arm lightly. Still looks good to me.

I'm easing into the W8 Watching, but I'm sure not losing anything yet. That's okay. I've got to get into the mindset and the right habits, and re-work some of the things I eat. I convinced myself last night before bed that if I woke up, I would only eat the vegetable I prepared and left in the fridge, and I did. No pop-tart wrappers left out this morning. (I always leave the wrappings out on the counter from my night-time eating so I can remember what I ate.)

.
.
.

(Picture clock hands spinning.)

Okay, it's an hour later. Talked to K, who has a cold. I talked to my sister at 7:15 (!), but only for a minute. People are weird.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching in between shows
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here