the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hate It There 1098

04.27.2006

3:11 pm

I didn't even go to work today, but it overshadowed my day and is a terrible, terrible place. I think I am not depressed, but justifiably angry and sad. No details yet. But I will feel no hesitation in giving up the club as well as the school website at the end of this school year. I'm done with that place emotionally, although I'm not done with it physically for another three years. If you ever wondered what causes teachers to burn out, well, this is it. More details in the future, perhaps next week.

Other than that, my day has been pleasant. Oh, except for the part where I went to the ATM and then the car window wouldn't go up again. I ended up leaving the car at the service station and walking home -- it is a remarkably beautiful spring day -- and they called afterwards. Roughly $350 to replace the master switch. Well. Since I can't get another car for $350, I guess that makes the decision for me.

Once again, I actually got done all the cleaning tasks I set for myself today. (It really is a lot easier if you keep it up a little bit every day. Most of you probably knew that already.) Made a quick trip to Target early in the day. (K, btw, says that if they would let her smoke there, she would live in Target.) I was about to do some tidying upstairs, but fortunately the Sibs called -- she's on Spring Break this week -- and saved me from that. There isn't a lot to do, but I'm getting ready to have some work done up there. Not the minor remodeling I was thinking about; we're passing on that. But an electrician is coming on Saturday to look over what needs to be done, and then a bit of paint and carpet, and a human being can live there. I've wanted to do this for years and years, but there was always so much stuff in the room that it was impossible. This brief respite with R moved out and K not home yet is my only opportunity.

I'm suddenly not feeling so well: headachy, queasy, icky. I think I'll just post and try for a nap.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here