the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What Did I Tell You? 1102

05.02.2006

4:46 pm

First:

So I have this pal at work, and I know I've given her a diary name before but I don't know what it was, but from now on I will refer to her as The Other Chai, because she and I have the same weird first name. We do have some bizarre similarities in our lives -- we were pregnant together, among other things, and are both originally from the same neighborhood in the Bronx -- but we are mostly unalike. It's the name, mostly, that we share, although she usually goes by a cartoony nickname. We've known each other for 35 years or so. Okay, that's enough backstory for now.

She teaches the most advanced level of social studies classes.She told me this morning that she was writing her self-evaluation, as required near the end of each year, and when she came to the question "What has been your biggest obstacle this year?" she went off at length about it being the lack of the library, and how essential the library is to what she does with her classes and her curriculum.

Awww. Really. I was very touched. You see, I do know that she and others like her are there. It's just that with the exception of her, most of our supporters are not terribly vocal about it. But, what.ever. Just thought I'd tell a nice little tale today instead of the usual crap.


So on Saturday, I decided that I would get a Mac when school was over and K was home. By Sunday, I had decided that there would really be no reason to wait that long, and I would probably get it before that. Yesterday, I thought it would be fun to have for this weekend, since the Hubs is away on business over Friday night and it would keep me occupied all alone in the house, so I would go buy it on Thursday and pick it up with everything installed on Friday.

You know where this is going, don't you?

Today, I was thinking that what if I bought it Thursday and it wasn't ready by Friday? R bought hers and had to bring it back the next day to get the stuff installed and then picked it up the day after that. So of course, I bought it today. And they said it'll be ready to pick up tonight, although if they call after 8:00, I'll get it tomorrow.

My new philosophy, which I just sort of came out with today, is that when life gives you lemons, go buy a new toy. Whatever the toy is won't be the same for everyone. The Other Chai thinks "toy" and sees jewelry. That's the last thing I'd see. I was telling the Colleague my new philosophy and one of the other secretaries overheard me and said that for her, it would be a new car. (She drives a Corvette.) To lots and lots of people that I know, it would be shoes. To me, it's got to be a gadget, and given the volume of lemons I've been swallowing lately, a really good gadget. If all goes well, I will show you a picture tomorrow. I shall name him Maxx.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here