the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Trying to Get Along 1104

05.04.2006

5:09 pm

I'm typing this entry with Maxx, and without the little HTML editor I usually use, so don't expect anything fancy. This is quite the learning experience, folks. And it's so pretty.

I wonder ... if I can be so bold ... maybe this actually is some kind of HTML editor ... ah, no, I don't think so. But I have figured out how to make it a plain text editor ... I'm just rambling on now.

Okay, it is an HTML editor, I just don't know how to use it yet. Hold on ...

Well, I have spent the better part of the day with Maxx the Mac, and it was my best day at work since the library closed. I'm learning a whole bunch and I have pages of questions to ask. I won't bore you.

I had started typing an entry at work yesterday (after I'd already posted via email), and I figured I would post it today if I could make it happen. I think I can. I took the picture with my cell phone and just a few minutes ago, figured out how to send it from the phone to the computer via Bluetooth, and then how to upload the picture to my server without an FTP program. I'm getting there. Here's a real entry:


So, How's The View?

In fact, I have a very pleasant view out of the window that runs
alongside my little corner in the back of the computer lab. I can see
the same row of houses -- the red one with the white roof, the white
one three stories high with the green roof, and the white one-story
where the kids stand on the lawn after school and smoke -- but it's a
lovely little suburban street with scads of beautifully spring-green
trees whose leaves are at my eye level because I'm on the second
floor.

My library had similar views, although of the streets on the other
side of the building, but we didn't see them because we kept the
blinds closed, the better to block out glare coming in from every side
and pouring onto pages and computer screens. I sat in front of a
window anyway, with my back to it, and faced into the room. My current
position puts the whole wall of windows alongside of me, and because
the light comes in from one side only, all the computers but a few are
safe from glare and so the blinds are raised so that we can see out
the lower windows. Hold on ...

It seems that we're really having a Spring this year, as opposed to
going straight from winter to summer, as we have been in recent years,
and even though it's said to be a terrible year for allergies, I'm
having a better year than usual; the tree pollen usually invades my
eyes and makes me miserable, but so far this year, nothing. I'm loving
Spring this year.


And that's all I got. I could just sit here and play on the keyboard all night -- I went to bed at 12:30 last night -- but I have some food to cook (really) and my car to pick up from the station when the Hubs gets home. Oh, and the final draft of K's thesis to read; I forgot about that. Something tells me I ought to do that first.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here