the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Happy (yawn ... stretch) Friday 1105

05.05.2006

7:24 pm

I went to bed at a relatively reasonable 10:30 last night, stumbled in a semi-awake trance into the family room at 1:30 and ate a box of crackers, and then could not get back to sleep, so I went and noodled around with Maxx for awhile and finally fell asleep around 4:00. I dreamed about neatly coiled and elegant looking white cables, with soft gray markings on their business ends that explained what they are. Really. Whenever I get seriously into something new, I dream about for a few days. When I first learned Windows, each of my dreams had a finite end, marked by clicking on an X in the upper right hand corner and seeing the window containing the dream disappear. When I would be typing lots of papers in college, my dreams would be like dialog, spelled out by fingers moving from letter to letter across a keyboard. So if you ever wondered why I thought therapy was a good idea, you can stop now.

So I'm starting to fade some. I have so much more to do to get the computer set up, but I've hit a brick wall with a couple of things. Maybe it's the tired. I made an appointment to sit with an Apple store guy for an hour next week and ASK. It's a nice service, for sure, and all the people I've dealt with have been unbelievably pleasant and helpful. Their service, so far, beats any PC service I've ever gotten, although I did enjoy talking to the Gateway people in South Dakota fifteen years back, when the computers were actually built there and customer service was there, too.


That was this morning; I'm home now. Still tired, but plugging away trying to get my checkbook program up and running. I did stop and actually cook dinner and ate it, but now I'm gearing up for a big night at the keyboard. Or maybe just watching lots of SVUs, whatever. I'm happy either way. And of course, there's a new Degrassi on. Some kids never grow up.

The Hubs is away overnight on business tonight, which I don't know if I've mentioned or not. I can't remember, but I think I have possibly never spent a whole night in this house alone, and probably not too many nights anywhere else, either. One of the things that the Hubs and my father had in common was their dislike of travel, and until he started working at this job a few years ago, the Hubs had no interest in going anywhere except the few places he went with me. Even if he did -- he went fishing in Canada with his father years and years back -- the kids were little, or at least, still lived at home, like last year when he had to go on this same trip, but R still lived here. Funny. I'm not spooked or anything, although I can't promise what I'll be like at bedtime. But I'm okay. I love good mental health.

Okay, I'm going to post, if I can, and get back to it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here