the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Me and Maxx 1111

05.11.2006

5:29 pm

So me and Maxx, we had a nice day together. I've got a lot more figured out, and I'm slowly but surely moving all my pictures over and preserving the file structure, which is what I wanted. Since I've got subfolders nested in subfolder ad infinitum, and I have to move each folder individually, it's taking some time, but hey, time I've got.

I got an HTML program, which I'm using for the first time for an entry, so I'll see how that goes. I got a good FTP program, the same one, actually, that I've been using (it's called CuteFTP), just the Mac version. So that works. I downloaded a solitaire, and bejeweled. I'm good to go.

So. On Tuesday, I was informed that I'm due for my second observation of the year. Now, I am totally not freaked out by observations, as many people are, but you know, the genius doing this could have had the foresight to observe me while I actually still had a library to run. I have no idea what he's going to observe now; I told him to drop by anytime. Here's the other thing: the administrator who previously observed us (and who wrote up the year's first observation in October) was recently re-assigned to a middle school, so it's his replacement who's coming to observe. This individual has been an administrator for ... oh ... three months? And before that?

You knew this was coming, right? He was a gym teacher. (And wrestling coach.)

Yeeeeeesssss. I am going to be observed by a gym teacher who was in the old library maybe three times in his life, who has no idea what I did before, and who has nothing to see me doing now. I'm not concerned about getting a bad evaluation -- I never have gotten one -- because it's not as if I'm going to be doing anything wrong. Of course, it's not as if I'm going to be doing anything. I could have worked something out and explained it to him six weeks ago. Now?

But I had a pleasant day. The SCM is away for a few days (for a family wedding) and I just hung out with Maxx. R is coming any minute (hey, two days in row!) for a quick dinner and then we're going to see the drama club play tonight. I hope I stay awake. Unfortunately, they're doing Our Town, which is not exactly a spell-binder, not to mention I've seen it a hundred times.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here