the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

One of Those Circle Things 1112

05.12.2006

7:15 pm

As a person who enjoys logic and order, aka an anal personality, I like it when life provides those rare instances of coming full circle. Just had me one of them.

Since I got home from school, I've been madly packing one thing or another and getting ready for the weekend trip to DC. I've had to pack a bag of things to hand off to K when we arrive and not take to the hotel (a checkbook, her birthday SVU DVDs, etc.), and a bag of catfood to go with the hairy little beasts tomorrow (including a page I printed with their pictures and names, mostly to make sure the right cat gets the right food), a bag of water bottles and snacks for the car, and of course, my own suitcase. When I realize that I have no toothbrush or toothpaste to take with me. (I do not travel with my electric toothbrush.) Emergency run to CVS.

As I park, I can see that there are people outside collecting money for something or other, which can only be a high school activity because no one else ever collects there. I will risk seeing someone I know and have to talk to. But as I get closer, I see that it is Barbara L.

Totally. Excellent. Love this woman. Who is she? Her daughter Brittany and K went to pre-school together. We run into each other around town from time to time; her youngest is still at the high school and the two of them are collecting money for the band tonight. I stopped and talked for several minutes.

We both have college graduations to attend on Sunday. Girls who know each other from pre-school, and their moms who've known each other since then.

Very cool.

We are leaving mid-morning, after we've dropped off the cats and loaded up the car and stopped for Dunkin' Donuts coffee and R has arrived to join us. I anticipate having Internet access at the hotel; if so, you'll hear from me. If not, I'll check back in Monday night, after all my children have graduated from college.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Jeopardy
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here