the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Had To Do It 1117

05.17.2006

3:55 pm

I was definitely not going to start writing until I got home today, but here I am at school -- last period of the day -- and I couldn't resist.

The SCM just walked right into the corner of a table. I see him do it at least once a week. Starting to write was better than laughing out loud.

I am bad.

He is just so dopey sometimes. He was teaching a poetry workshop in three classes this morning, and wanted to bring our overhead projector with him. Downstairs, in another wing of the school. He asked me before he went if I thought he should bring the projector on its cart.

Uh, yeah. How else would you get it there?

He was going to carry it in his arms like a baby. Sometimes he just does not have the same kind of thought processes as normal people.

Anyway, so I got my evaluation and it was as I expected, brief, nothing wrong with it. I told him I don't sign anything if my name is misspelled on it -- people always misspell my name, as if I got it wrong and they are thoughtfully correcting it for me -- but I signed it when they printed out a corrected copy. What the hell do I care.

I did have fun last period, though. My pal The Other Chai did not hang out with me third period today, when we usually get coffee, so I assumed she was absent, but when I went to my car for something after lunch, I saw her car in the parking lot. So I went looking for her last period, when I knew she didn't have a class, to clarify some details about the field trip I'm going on with her on Monday. I came across her in the faculty room, where I never really go, except for lunch. She was sitting at a big round table with about five other women, all over 50, all the funniest damn women in the school.

What a hoot. I have got to try to arrange to hang out with this crowd more regularly. I haven't laughed so much in this building in ages. (Other than laughing to myself at dopey old you-know-who.)

Well, it's Lost Wednesday, so I guess I wouldn't have had time to write much later anyway, between talking to K and R coming for dinner and the show. A good idea after all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here