the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Finish the Sentence 1118

05.18.2006

3:51 pm

Appropriated from The Cranky One

1. My ex is still: my husband. I broke up with my previous, before marriage, ex in 1974.
2. I should have: more money. Shouldn't everyone?
3. I love: my children.
4. I don't understand: why or how people can knowingly and intentionally hurt other people. Or even animals, for that matter.
5. I lost: my metabolism.
6. People say I'm: organized.
7. Love is: worth it.
8. Somewhere, someone is: kissing a baby and smelling its head.
9. I will always: be the same as I always was.
10. "Forever" is: real.
11. I never want to be: senile.
12. I think the current president is: a fucking idiot. In it for personal profit.
13. When I wake up in the morning: I wish I could sleep more.


They are looking for Jimmy Hoffa, one of the great American missing persons. I think they're looking in Detroit or someplace. My FIL, like many around here, is certain that he is under the goalpost in Giants Stadium in the Jersey Meadowlands, as that whole swamp area was being developed, including the building of the stadium, around the time Hoffa disappeared, and there was supposedly a heavy mob hand in the building. Hey, they found the remains of Judge Crater not long ago, so that mystery's solved. Soon we'll be finding out what really happened to Amelia Earhart.


I feel like the worst cat mommy of all time. I just took the two hairy beasts over to the boarding vet, which I know is the safest place for them while the carpeting is being installed tomorrow, but still. They cried the whole time in the car. And Q wasn't so well last night, lethargic and no appetite, as happens to her sometimes, although she scarfed down a bowlful as soon as I got home from work. Ah well.

I expect to be busy tonight, getting things ready, and tomorrow night, putting things back. Since I'm sure the carpet folk won't be done by four, which is cat pick-up time, I'll pick them up on Saturday morning, which means I can even get some work done in the attic tomorrow night without having to worry about them getting in there and getting stuck in the rafters (as Boo did many years ago.) Too bad I'm already tired and achy. Not a good beginning, I think, for the nonsense before me.

I'm off to get my nails done. My Chum said today that she had a pedicure yesterday -- I'd given her a gift certificate for Christmas -- and had never had one before ever; she is not, she said, "girly." Well hey, there just aren't a whole lot of women less girly than I am, which is why I think I am continually amused that I really do go get my nails done every other week and I like it when they look nice. It's almost like the opposite of my credo, which is "When I am an old woman I shall wear purple, and a red hat that doesn't go." Age is giving me the freedom not only to wear purple, if I want, and clothes that don't match, but to take on the occasional "girly" affectation. Other than the body falling apart thing, I'm not finding aging to be altogether negative, if you know what I mean.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here