the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Kicking It Down a Notch 1119

05.19.2006

5:23 pm

So, as we all know, I spend the majority of my time at work every day doing absolutely nothing, because all meaningful work has been taken away from me due to that little detail of my being a librarian and the library having been shut down. What, you may ask, did I do today?

Today was a district-wide in-service day, which would have meant sitting in some other department's workshop since they would have had to find someplace to put us, so instead, I scheduled carpeting installation and called in sick. A day at home, having carpet installed. I was told that the installers would arrive any time between 8 AM and 6 PM.

It is now about 5:15. And not a scrap of carpet yet to be seen. I have watched nine -- NINE! -- episodes of SVU, as well as last night's Will and Grace finale, which I fell asleep during last night, but which I enjoyed it when I saw it today. I've called the customer service line three times altogether today, because you know, if they're coming late, a heads up would be nice. The installer himself called about ten minutes ago to apologize and said something, possibly, about car trouble, and he will be here at 6:30 unless I want to re-schedule.

No, I don't want to re-schedule. I took the damn day off of work. (Of course, as it turns out, I could have gone to work and even gone shopping afterwards, and I would still have been home in time.) My cats are being boarded, for gosh sake, and I only have between 9 and 12:30 to pick them up tomorrow, or else I have to leave them until Monday afternoon, and I didn't bring enough food for that long a stay.

I am pissed. But I want it done today. I guess I'll have to be awake until midnight or whatever time they finish. I'll be curious to see what the Hubs does, because you know, household things are generally done by magical elves when he's not here, so he's rarely, if ever, in the house with workmen. It'll be a new experience for him.

I've eaten a week's worth of food today, too, which is I guess what I do when I'm trapped in the house with food. And I miss the little beasts. I keep expecting them to walk into the room, or be underfoot when I walk into another room.

All in all, a wasted day. (Although I enjoyed the shows I watched.) Tomorrow should be interesting.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here