the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ten Cents a Whole Lot 1142

06.12.2006

4:51 pm

I have a cold.

As annoying as this is, at least I don't have the sinus headache anymore, just constant nose-blowing and sneezing all day. Yesterday I had a sore throat too, but that doesn't seem to be a problem today. However, the skin on my nose is beginning to wear away. Not a positive experience.

R was here for most of the day yesterday; we ran around and did a million things despite my feeling crummy. (My back was bad, too.) Once again, a lesson I learned from my mother by negative example. If she didn't feel tip-top, she sat or laid down and rested until she felt better. I think she missed a lot of life that way. The MIL, on the other hand, will perservere even if she has to carry around a heart-lung machine to keep her going. Both of them are/were crazy, because there is a middle ground, no? If I feel crummy but not incapacitated, then I will go and do what I want or need to do. If I'm not up to it, I won't. Let's be reasonable here.

On the other hand, I have two loads of laundry to fold and put away, and for sure, I don't wanna do that. Maybe a nap. I'll see.

My Chum, who wants no recognition made of her retirement whatsoever, has consented to allowing a dozen of us or so to take her out to lunch tomorrow. No speeches, just lunch. We selected the guest list together, twelve including the two of us, all women but one. What can I say, he'll fit right in. Our dear friend E, formerly the third member of our triumvirate, can't make it, but the two of us had lunch with her today, so that's okay. I totally heart E. Even if I see her twice a year, it's as if nothing has ever changed between us. (She retired five years ago.) If you're ever looking for the classic Jewish grandma -- cooks, knits, lives for her grandchildren -- who also tells smutty stories and can swear like a sailor, E is your gal.

I am in overdrive mode with making appointments of one kind or another, whether for the house or for me. Tomorrow, nails and then orthopedist. (Today, of course, is the first day since the beginning of April that my elbow hasn't bothered me. Why does that always happen?) On Saturday, doctor in the morning, pedicure in the afternoon. Next week, haircut and hearing aid repair. Week after that, electrician and hopefully handyman to replace missing and/or cruddy old doors. Somehow several roof tiles have slipped loose. I can't call the roofer who put them there (the Sibs' ex-husband), so I guess I'll have to look in the local paper for someone to do that.

I'm preparing for Sunday's drive to DC. I had my tires checked before (oh, also bringing the Hubs' car in for service tomorrow), and made sure the CD player in the car works. (I rarely listen to CDs there anymore, but it really is the most reliable sound source for a long trip. I already loaded it up with the first six disks of The Order of the Pheonix.) I'm charging the iPod for backup and in case I want to hear music. I'm considering what food I need to bring in the car. I'm probably bringing more food than clothes, since all I need to wear is what I'm driving in and what I'm driving home in. We were thinking about going to see the new FDR Memorial while I'm there, but we may not have the time -- or energy. I have a feeling that after I arrive Sunday afternoon, K and I will be totally engaged in cleaning her share of the apartment before she leaves. Although I imagine it's harder to do that when the other roommate is still staying there. (I mean, when she left the last apartment we had to clean, literally, everything, every toilet, countertop, floor. If someone is still living there and her stuff is all over too, I think our responsibility is different, no? K's room and her shared areas of the common spaces, like her shelves in the bathroom and kitchen? As it is, K does most of the bathroom and kitchen cleaning, so I imagine the place is in reasonable shape to begin with.)

I just saw a commercial on TV for a Care Bears Live! show that's coming to the area. God, I hope R doesn't see it. That kid was heavy into the Care Bears at one time, as I recall. There was a period of a few years when the only way she would get a shampoo and haircut was if I stood beside her and held her hand and made up stories about the Care Bear with the dirty fur and how the others supported him and loved him while convincing him to get some much needed grooming. They're probably still chuckling over that one at Cuts for Peanuts.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here