the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

About Me 1143

06.13.2006

7:39 pm

Let me tell you about how I have been eating lately.

Like a chozzer.

I haven't even weighed myself for two weeks because I'm afraid to. I've eaten out like a million times in the last week, and when I'm home, I just stuff my face. I'm planning to carry a portable banquet -- is that a moveable feast? -- with me in the car for the trip to DC, because food is my friend and will keep me company. Oy.

I was reading an article in the AARP magazine at the doctor's office before called "Secrets of Skinny People." Yeah, thanks. Anyway, one of the things it said is that skinny people don't mind being hungry.

Wait a minute ... that's me! Or it used to be, anyway. I could go a whole day without eating, and not even remember to until I got a headache. I enjoyed the taste of food, but I definitely ate to live instead of the other way around. How long ago was this? Not so long, I think ... certainly when I was a kid, but maybe until 5 - 10 years ago. Except when I was pregnant, when I opened my mouth like a baby bird at month one and kept shoveling it in for nine more. But pregnant fat doesn't count. (I gained 45 pounds each time.)

The doctor's office. I went to the orthopedist. Yada, yada, yada, I have "classic" tennis elbow. I have a brace to wear and he's sending me for physical therapy starting next week or thereabouts. I have to go back in a month; if it's not better he may suggest "a little shot." Did I mention that getting a cortisone shot for shoulder bursitis is reportedly the only thing that ever brought tears of pain to my father's eyes? Ah well, I'm sure technology has improved in the last forty years. I can stand any medical procedure except those that involve actual needles.

On the other hand, I am deeply in love with this brace they put on me. I don't think I realized how much just typing on the keyboard was hurting me, but now I'm typing and I don't feel a thing. (It's a miracle! I'm cured!)

My cold is not worse, which I suppose is a good thing. Perhaps it's better. It's hard to tell, because work sucks so much, I spend most of my day being miserable anyway. Two days to go. I wish I could take the Colleague home with me for the summer. (Not that she doesn't have her own home just on the other side of Bizarro Town, but they have made it hell for her there and I despair for her having to be there all summer, which she has to be.)

Okay, I'm going to post now. And then I'm going to eat something.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here