the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It Ain't Over Til ... (It's Over!) 1145

06.15.2006

7:26 pm

I can't remember a school year ending with less sense of closure. It feels more like I'm just not going in tomorrow -- as if I haven't done that more times this year than I should have -- and not that school is actually over for the year.

But graduation was tonight -- it's still going on, I assume; I could probably hear it if I stepped out into the yard and wasn't deaf -- and I was there for about an hour and a half, although I was in the office and not out at the field. All faculty members need to be there, and get a duty, but my duty is over when they start to march out of the building, so I come home. I got to observe The Ritual of the Neckties this year, which was amusing. The boys are required to wear collared shirts and ties under their robes, but there are always a dozen or so who turn up tie-less. They are sent to the office, where the ages-old stash of ties is brought out. The first kid who came in, the assistant principal handed him one, but he just stood there. Then they realized that none of these boys could tie a necktie. The two asst. principals then proceeded to tie one after another on themselves, as most men, I think, can only tie a tie around their own necks, and then pass them over. It was fun to watch.

So, the school year draws to a close. Let me see. Of the two people in that place dearest to me, one is now retired and the other is now assigned to another job, separated out of the library and away from me. I don't have to deal with random political crap and bullying for a couple of months. No worrying about when I'll have a library again, at least for awhile.

Anyway, I'm having lunch tomorrow with the just-retired Chum and with The Other Chai. Easing into closure a bit. Late tomorrow, I expect the movers to arrive with K's stuff.

I have nothing in the house for dinner. I just had the end of a bag of potato chips and a WW ice cream sandwich. Tres healthy.

Okay! Freedom's just another word for ... having the summer off. Yay first day of summer vacation!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here