the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

New Year's Resolutions 1146

06.16.2006

4:45 pm

Okay, maybe that's an overstatement. "Summer Plans" might be more accurate. But they're kind of goals, and for my own good, so that has a resolution-like feel to it.

1. Stay up each night to watch The Daily Show at 11:00. If I can.
2. Sleep, or at least lounge in bed, until I want to get up.
3. Each day, clean something.
4. Each day, read a book.
5. Each day, watch a DVD, or a classic movie on TV.

How am I doing so far?

I did see the first half of The Daily Show last night, anyway. I woke up at my normal time this morning, but I managed to languish in bed until almost 6:30. (Hmm. Gotta work on that.) I've done a bizarre amount of cleaning so far today, bizarre for me at least. I also did some food shopping, picked up a prescription and the dry cleaning, and moved some of R's stuff downstairs to make way for K's stuff. The big boxes, however, I'll ask the movers to bring down before they bring the other stuff in.

Oh, and I was almost killed by elves.

I was pulling out of the parking space at the supermarket, when this giant truck came barrelling through, not looking; if I hadn't stopped short it would have smashed right into me. It was a Keebler truck, with the whole elves-in-the-hollow-tree painted on the side. That's what I need on my first day of summer vacation, to be car-wrecked by an elf truck.

I've also emailed back and forth with the girls on one thing or another; did I ever say how much I love email? What a cool technology. Fifteen years ago, this would have been numerous long-distance phone calls all morning.

So I had lunch with a couple of pals, which was very nice, although K called me on the cell while I was there to say the movers hadn't arrived yet. So my bad karma with workers arriving at the appointed time has now transferred over to her. I called the moving company; they're not sure where the truck and drivers are, but they're trying to reach them. Oh good. So that one is still playing out. Memories of the carpet people arriving here at 8 PM are unreeling in my head; if the movers aren't even in DC yet -- at 1:15 -- what time could they be getting here with the stuff? Ten? Wonderful.

That was 1:15. At 3:00, after phone calls back and forth, the movers are not going to get there today at all. Do I really have SCHMUCK tattooed across my face, or what? But I know the guy who runs the company -- we've used them several times before -- and he's very apologetic, takes full responsibility, etc., etc. Let's hope he also takes off a chunk of the price. He swears they will be there by 10:00 tomorrow, and as for the unloading at my house, he will work around my time. Which is good, since I have a 3:30 pedi tomorrow. If I'm not home when he gets here, he'll bring it back in an hour. Or so he says. Meanwhile, K had wasted an entire day waiting for them when she needed to get other stuff done, stuff she was going to do after they left with her things, and some of which it's now too late for. I hate dealing with all these workers. Which is to say that the handyman who returned my call after two weeks and now I'm waiting a week to hear from him again? I think I'll call someone else. That sort of not calling back does not bode well for the future.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Grounded for Life
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here