the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Today Did Not Suck 1253

10.05.2006

5:00 pm

Suprisingly. Nothing actually bad happened -- well, the school websites were all hacked, but that's not my problem any more, and the library site looks okay -- and I had two classes to teach, one of which was lots of fun and one of which was weird. But okay. The weird one is that every year, I give the AP History class a "tour" of the library, pointing out sources they can use this year, talking about research methods, and so on, and today I did it sans library. So it was more like a virtual tour, with PowerPoint. But they were a dull group. I don't think they answered a single question, even easy ones. "Okay, North America! How many countries are there in North America?" This is a college level history course, folks. I don't even think that they didn't know. They just didn't feel like answering. Their teacher, The Other Chai, will not put up with that crap for long.

I have a terrible headache, which I think must be sinus-related, so that's that. I'm dressed for the gym and will be going soon, but the yoga class starts at 6:30, and if I get there too early, I'll do the treadmill for awhile and then have nothing to do. I should probably have some dinner before I go -- I'll go around 5:15, maybe 5:30 -- but I don't wanna. The yoga class is 6:30 to 7:15, and then a 15 minute class in relaxation breathing after, so it'll be almost 8:00 when I get home. I'll eat while I'm watching Ugly Betty, I guess.

Here's something weird, which I don't think I've mentioned before, because, ick. (Maybe I have; my short-term memory is for shit.) One end of my incision seems to be not quite healed. Yes, that's from August, two months ago today, in fact. I only noticed it last week. The Sibs says a stitch can work its way out over time, and maybe it's just that. I'm going to see the surgeon after school tomorrow to find out what's what. I'm wondering if maybe some of my workouts brought it about; I've done two classes that involve lying on the floor on my belly. (None of that tonight, though.) I just never noticed it; the scar isn't exactly visible to me, as it's kind of on the underside of my fat and I've got to push that big boob out of the way just to see that, which you can imagine I'm not all that motivated to do.

...

I just remembered: fluffernutter! The perfect food! And, may I say, yum.





--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Still Standing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here