the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Long Day 1259

10.11.2006

8:06 pm

My plans for the day included the magical mystery tour of the new library and, after school, a nice, relaxing manicure. This was not to be.

I got to the office for my 1:00 with Mr. MDIAO (My Door Is Always Open), only to find that he was at a meeting out of the district all day. All day! Whose idea was this tour, anyway? I didn't ask for it, since I have some sense, and know not to ask for things that I'm not getting anyway. His idea, folks! Liar or incompetent? You decide.

As soon as I got into my car after school, I knew it was not right. The Service Engine light that was on and off over the weekend had come back last night, but now it was flashing on and off rapidly, and the car was bucking and lurching, although never stalling. I made it to the nails place, but there was nowhere to park, so I parked illegally, changed my appointment to Friday, and drove over to the mechanic. He said the car was "misfiring" -- I'm sure that means something -- and he could have it done by the end of school tomorrow. I called K to pick me up, and she'll drop me off and pick me up tomorrow, since she's working 8 to 1 and I'm working 7:30 to 2:30. That works out.

It is nasty raining outside, and the girls and I had some places to go, so we did that, and are now in for an evening of fine television. I could pass on Top Model, but they enjoy, so I watch, and then Lost and Project Runway. Yes, TV is my life. But you knew that.

I can hear today, btw. Don't know quite what that was, although allergies are still my best guess.







--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Next Top Model
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here