the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Storm 1274

10.28.2006

6:53 pm

This morning's storm was of somewhat biblical proportions, intermittent deluges mixed with howling wind. And then, around 2:00, the sun came out, the skies were blue, and the wind had died down some, but not completely. We lost power this morning, but only for about an hour. Even so. I love electricity.

Huh.

Even so, I didn't venture out today, even onto the front porch. I should go out tomorrow, if for no other reason that to make sure I can actually shoehorn myself into a car before I try to go to work on Monday. Going back to work involves a complicated schedule of who can drop me off, pick me up, take me here, take me there. I'm supposed to speak to the English department at their meeting after school on Monday, so that's a late pick up. But then I do need to drop by the doctor's office to have someone check the brace, as well as have someone sign a form so I can get a temporary handicapped hang-tag for my car. On Wednesday, the Sibs will pick me up from school and take me to get my nails done, which by now are so long I can hardly type, and then R will pick me up there.

Speaking of the brace I have on, you know, I am moderately freaked out by this whole experience. Getting the brace on Tuesday changed my feelings about the whole thing: can I walk, what can I do, if I don't have the brace on, will I hurt it more, and so on. Talking to the doctor yesterday eased some of my concerns, but still. I really have no idea how snug the thing should be (which is why I'm going there Monday to have it checked.) I think, snug is better and protects it more, but is there too snug? My ankle below the brace is pretty puffy, which the doctor says is normal. But several times this afternoon, I felt a sudden pain a few inches above the ankle/below the brace, and the hypochondriac in me is always alert for strange and terrible things to happen (think deep vein thrombosis, at least, if you want to think what I think). It's not hot or swollen where the pain was, but I did loosen the lower bands on the brace a bit, and I haven't felt it since then.

My eccentric nephew, who is the eldest of them all, and who, by the way, is this person -- it's his stage name -- is in from California for a few days and dropped by this afternoon for an hour or two. Eccentric isn't even the half of it. Anyway, he has many irons in his fire, including possibly his own radio show and starting his own Internet radio station (for which I do not yet have the URL), as well as his music. He brought me, as the Hubs called it, his "box set," a stack of maybe a dozen CDs of his work. The CD advertised on his website, Great Story, I already have; most of what he brought today are more like demos, although one of them is a complete album, with a professionally labeled disc and liner notes and everything. Anyway, one of the things he loves to come here and talk about is conspiracy theories, because, good little liberals all, those in this house tend to believe in many of them, especially the Hubs, but no one more than JJ himself. He doesn't talk politics on the radio -- I gather that he talks mostly about sex, actually -- so I guess it's fun for him to come here a few times a year and get it out of his system.

Seriously though, and not just because he brought it up; I've been thinking about this for a few weeks: why hasn't George Bush been impeached? How many laws does he actually have to break? And real laws, not just perjury, or getting his (pardon the expression) dick sucked in the oval office. I mean like violating people's right to habeas corpus, as the Constitution guarantees, or spying on Americans, or that abominable Patriot Act, or .... well, you know. You don't need me to list them all.

I have a headache now, but I always tend to have one after JJ leaves, as much as I love him to death. But no weird pains in my leg, and R seems to have left some home-made peanut butter cookies here. Score.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SVU
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here