the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Salve 1277

11.01.2006

5:45 pm


I'm going to write what little I can now, since I've got all kinds of things on tap for after school and then lots of catching up on TV with the girls.

First, it's hotter than hell here in the library in exile and I'm melting. Just thought I'd mention it.

We will apparently be moving into the new library sometime before the end of the Bush administration. That's about as close as we can pin them down now. I think they'll just tell us one morning that we're moving that day.

The trees are finally changing color, virtually all of them, and a few leaves are falling here and there, but it's November now, so this is still pretty strange. It's 68 degrees outside at the moment, which is more like September weather.

The principal sent out an email this morning with a Latin phrase as the tagline, which turned out to mean something like "If you say something in Latin, it will sound important." I thought that was pretty funny, and I wanted to respond in kind, but I could not find the Latin for a phrase from The Aenieid that I wanted to use -- I coulda if I hadda book -- but I found a great website that had all kinds of funny things translated into Latin, so I replied to his email with this:

Quantum materiae materietur marmota monax si marmota monax materiam possit materiari?

Anybody guess what it means? The answer's below.

So I called the police station to find out about getting a temporary handicapped tag, which I mostly want so that I can park near the building when I vote on Tuesday. I mean, where else am I going? It seems that I cannot park in a handicapped space at the police station until I actually have the tag, and all other parking is down the street and around the block. Now I ask you. Does this make any sense? It's the most user-unfriendly facility anywhere. There's a handicapped entrance to the building, but you have to park in the next town.

Speaking of which, why does handicapped-accessible really just mean "a wheelchair would fit in this space"? I'm not in a wheelchair, and if I were, I'd need a full-time aide just to get through the doors here in school. As it is, I have to push a door open with all my might and then jam the bottom of a crutch under it to keep it open. The doors are so heavy! No one in a wheelchair could possibly get through them.

Okay, give up? It means

How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck would chuck wood?

Vale.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Still Standing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here